Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA (7th ed.) referencing guide (Online): Dictionary

Mae'r dudalen hon hefyd ar gael yn Gymraeg

Dictionary

Below you will find guidance and examples of how to reference both a print dictionary and an online dictionary in the body of your work and in the reference list at the end.

In text citations

Example:

American Psychological Association (2015) define...
OR
...(American Psychological Association, 2015).

Example:

Merriam-Webster (n.d.) describe...
OR
...(Merriam-Webster, n.d.).

Reference List

Print dictionary

Group Author. (Year). Word defined. In Title (edition., page number). Publisher.

Example:

American Psychological Association. (2015). Mood induction. In APA dictionary of psychology (2nd ed., p. 667). 

 

Online dictionary

Group Author. (Year). Word defined. In Title. Publisher. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from URL 

Example:

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Semantics. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved January 4, 2020, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/semantics 

NB: Because entries in the Merriam-Webster's Dictionary is updated over time and not archived, include a retrieval date in the reference.

When the author and publisher are the same (as in the examples), omit the name of the publisher to avoid repetition.