LibGuides: Law: Key Resources

Key databases

Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
Westlaw is a large database containing legal materials from the United Kingdom, The United States and the European Union. You can find full text case law and legislation from these jurisdictions, and there are full text journal articles available from the United States Law Reviews and from a limited number of UK law journals.

Lexis Plus UK This link opens in a new window Complete online service giving access to all of the LexisNexis Butterworths online services that Swansea University subscribes to through one interface. Namely - All England Direct, Legislation Direct, Halsbury's Laws Direct, Employment Law Online, Family and Child Law Direct, Crime Online, Civil Procedure Online, Stone's Justice Manual Direct, Corporate Law Direct and Insolvency Law Direct, PI [Personal Injury] Online, Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents.

Oxford Law Trove This link opens in a new window
Law Trove gives online access to the award winning content of leading legal publisher Oxford University Press. It facilitates a rounded study of the law and allows you to delve deep on your chosen topic and even connect with other resources in our library collection.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Provides full text online access to a huge range of legal journals and includes rare and out-of-print collections.

Provides full text online access to a huge range of legal journals and includes rare and out-of-print collections.

Searching HeinOnline
This links to a video tutorial on carrying out effective searches on HeinOnline

i-Law This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
i-Law is the online knowledge and research service from Informa Law. We have access to their highly regarded Commercial Law and Maritime Law sections.
For i-Law login troubles, use password reset and your Swansea email address.

Legislation.gov.uk This link opens in a new window
Legislation.gov.uk contains most types of UK legislation, including primary legislation (statutes) and secondary legislation (statutory instruments) for the UK Parliament, Scottish Parliament , Northern Ireland Assembly and the National Assembly for Wales. Full-text content goes back to the late 20th century with some 19th century content. This website is managed by The National Archives on behalf of HM Government.

Searching legislation.gov.uk
An introduction to this important resource for UK legislation.

Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online offers access to thousands of academic works from the celebrated scholarly list of Oxford University Press, covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.

Lexis Plus UK This link opens in a new window
Lexis Library allows you to set up email alerts .click on the Current Awareness tab and choose your subjects. Alertnatively run any search and save it as an alert.
Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
Create a 'My Westlaw account and then set up your alerts. Alternatively search "Current Awareness"

The Lawyer
The Lawyer offers legal briefs and notices on a wide variety of topics
Mondaq
Mondaq offers news alerts and articles on your chosen topics from some of the world’s leading advisors
JournalTOCs
A Current Awareness Service where you can discover the newest papers coming directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online. Individual sign up is free. There are 1189 Law and Criminology Journal title listings.

OSCOLA referencing guide (Online)
by Katherine Jones Last Updated Apr 23, 2024 527114 views this year