Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Law Books
The Law Library has many thousands of Law textbooks and monographs in paper and electronic format.
You can most effectively track down the books and theses you want by searching iFind (the Library Catalogue). You can find information on borrowing, renewing and reserving items here
Your reading lists for your various modules should be available on our modular catalogue. If not, please ask your tutor to include one. They are very useful and easy to create.
If you cannot find an item you are after on iFind you can apply for an Inter Library Loan
You can ask your lecturer or tutor to have popular items scanned for your course reading purposes. Details available from the Scanning Service
Searching for Electronic Law Books
Staff and students of Swansea University have online access to many full-text electronic books. Some book titles can be located by searching iFind either by keyword (for books on a subject) or by author or title.
Other important legal databases such as Lexis Library, Westlaw UK and Heinonline have online book collections which you can search individually once you have logged in to those services.
Oxford Law Trove
Law Trove gives online access to the award winning content of leading legal publisher Oxford University Press. It facilitates a rounded study of the law and allows you to delve deep on your chosen topic and even connect with other resources in our library collection.
Bloomsbury Hart Collections: Law Books Casgliad o lyfrau cyfreithiol gan Hart Publishing.
A collection of legal books by Hart Publishing.
HeinOnline Provides full text online access to a huge range of legal journals and includes rare and out-of-print collections.
i-Law i-Law is the online knowledge and research service from Informa Law. We have access to their highly regarded Commercial Law and Maritime Law sections.
Lexis Library Complete online service giving access to all of the LexisNexis Butterworths online services that Swansea University subscribes to through one interface. Namely - All England Direct, Legislation Direct, Halsbury's Laws Direct, Employment Law Online, Family and Child Law Direct, Crime Online, Civil Procedure Online, Stone's Justice Manual Direct, Corporate Law Direct and Insolvency Law Direct, PI [Personal Injury] Online, Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents.
Oxford Handbooks - Law Oxford Handbooks: Law, dyma gasgliad gwych o Lawlyfrau Cyfreithiol. Mae’n cynnwys erthyglau manwl a lefel uchel gan ysgolheigion sydd yn flaenllaw yn eu maes. Ar hyn o bryd mae gennym fynediad at 26 o lyfrau a 1100 o erthyglau.
Oxford Handbooks: Law is an outstanding collection of Legal Handbooks. It contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. We currently have access to 26 books and over 1100 articles.
Oxford Scholarship Online This contains over 1000 law books from the Oxford University Press.
Proquest Ebook Central Proquest Ebook Central offers authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subject areas, along with powerful tools to help you find, use, and manage the information you need.
VLeBooks Mae platfform VLeBooks yn darparu ystod o e-lyfrau ar nifer fawr o bynciau. Bydd angen i chi fewngofnodi trwy Shibboleth gan ddefnyddio'ch enw defnyddiwr a'ch cyfrinair Prifysgol Abertawe.
The VLeBooks platform provides a range of ebooks on a large number of topics. You will need to log in via Shibboleth using your Swansea University username and password.
Westlaw UK Swansea University login required. Westlaw is a large database containing legal materials from the United Kingdom, The United States and the European Union. You can find full text case law and legislation from these jurisdictions, and there are full text journal articles available from the United States Law Reviews and from a limited number of UK law journals.
New Book Arrivals in the Law Library
Click on the cover of the book you would like to see (above) and then roll over the image to reveal the link (as shown in the red box here) to the Swansea Library catalogue
Youtube - Finding a Book in Swansea University Library
Referencing Law Books Using OSCOLA
The basic format for referencing a book in OSCOLA is shown below. The full OSCOLA guide is available from the Referencing tab above.
Call Numbers - The Location of books in the Library
The Law books and journals are to be found in the Law Library on Level 4 (and 3) East of the Library and Information Centre at Singleton Park
A call number represents an item's subject matter and indicates the location on the shelf where the item can be found. The call number is usually made up of a combination of letters and numbers. The letter 'K' represents Law in our library with the addition of further letters and numbers each law item is then given a special location. The image below shows you some law textbooks and the call numbers they have been given so they can be located correctly. PS The red dots on the spine mean the book can be borrowed for one week..the normal loan period is two weeks. There is a special loan category area for many Law books called the Short loan collection. This is kept behind the Library Desk on the entrance Level - ask for your item there.
Some of the main sections are..
|K1 Law Journals
||KL Legal System
||KM Public Law (Criminal ,Administrative etc)
|KB Comparative Law
||KN Private Law (Contract , Tort etc )
|KC International law
||KW EU Law
Having Trouble Finding Law Books
If you have trouble finding books in the Library, you can download our Bookmark Library app from the Google Play Store. You will find what you want in no time at all.
Suggest a Book Purchase
Maybe there's a book that you would like to see in the Law Library. You can now recommend that we buy a copy for your study or research. Go ahead - Suggest a book!