Skip to main content

Law: Getting Started

Mae'r dudalen hon hefyd ar gael yn Gymraeg

Welcome to the Subject Guide for Law at Swansea University

Welcome to the library pages for students, staff and researchers of the College of Law. The Law Library can be found on East wing floor 4 of the Singleton Campus Library - lift access is available. This guide is here to assist you with your assignments and in undertaking legal research. Your Law Library team can help you with:

  • finding materials in the library and on the web for your assignments and dissertations
  • help with referencing
  • help with bibliographic software such as EndNote
  • help finding specialist information 

Some essential basics are demonstrated on the page below. Click on the individual tabs above for information on specific areas of Legal Research and Study.

Feel free to email us, tweet us or book an appointment to speak with us- Full details below - Sean Barr - Academic Liaison for Law and Criminology

s.p.barr@swansea.ac.uk

More online help and videos

Find more online support, videos and guidance on research on our Law Library Hub in Canvas - https://canvas.swansea.ac.uk/courses/22592

The Law and Criminology Librarians

L-R Sean Barr (Academic Liaison for Law and Criminology), Katherine Jones (Subject Librarian) Sian Neilson (Subject Librarian)

Assignment Survival Kit

Library News

Loading ...

COVID News

The University is planning return to campuses and reopening of services with the health and safety of students and staff as its top priority. In accordance with guidance from Welsh Government and University Management, Library staff have been working closely with Health and Safety and Estates colleagues to plan a safe, phased return which enables social distancing of 2 metres, sanitiser points, and provision of services with minimal contact.  Please consult our webpage for up to date information.

Online Library Skills Classes

Key databases

Swansea University login required. Westlaw is a large database containing legal materials from the United Kingdom, The United States and the European Union. You can find full text case law and legislation from these jurisdictions, and there are full text journal articles available from the United States Law Reviews and from a limited number of UK law journals.

Provides full text online access to a huge range of legal journals and includes rare and out-of-print collections.

i-Law is the online knowledge and research service from Informa Law. We have access to their highly regarded Commercial Law and Maritime Law sections.

For i-Law password email lawcrimlib@swansea.ac.uk

Using iFind - How to start searching for anything!

iFind is your first port of call to find anything in the library. You can search for books, databases and more.

Ask a Librarian

New students...

...Want to find out how to use the Library?  

 

Find out when your library induction is.  These sessions will help you make the best use of library resources. 

Referencing & Legal Abbreviations

Swansea Law Library Twitter

Copyright statement