Mathematics: Theses

Finding Swansea University Theses

Access the Swansea University E-Theses collection from Cronfa, the repository.

• Cronfa E-Theses contains recent full-text electronic PhD, M.Phil. and Masters by Research level theses. A few e-theses are barred from public access for up to five years. From 2021 the Library no longer receives physical copies for addition to stock.
• Swansea University Library undertook a digitisation project to make 1000 items from the historic thesis collection of PhD and MPhil dissertations available online. This project provides universal access to some of our vibrant research collections and electronic full-text items are available via Cronfa, the repository. Some of our collection is also held in the British Library EThOS e-theses online service.

The Library holds physical copies of most Swansea University theses at doctorate level and some masters until 2019/20.

• We do not usually keep third year projects, dissertations etc.
• Older theses for most subjects are held in a closed store in the Singleton Park Library. Ask at the My Uni Library service desk.
• The South Wales Miners' Library also has a small collection of DACE theses as well as some dissertations.

Information about all theses received by the library can be found on iFind, the library catalogue.

In the iFind search box, enter your topic keyword search and the words: swansea thesis. You can then use the Refine bar to limit to a range of years or particular Colleges. If you are particularly interested in recent theses you can change the Sort by menu at the top of the results list to Date descending to bring the most recent to the top.

The physical theses collection is restricted to the Library building for reference purposes only.

• If you wish to consult a thesis, give the author, title and year of the thesis to staff at the MyUni Library Desk. Staff will collect the item for you from the closed store. The thesis will be issued to your library card as a restricted item. Return the item to the MyUni Library Desk (or self-return machine) when you have finished with it and it will be discharged from your library card.
• Respecting copyright: you may copy no more than one complete chapter or 10% of the total, whichever is greater.

Barred theses

• A few theses are barred from public access for up to five years - this is usually because the work has commercial potential and the student has obtained permission from the University not to make it public straight away. If this happens there will be a note on the record giving the date when the information will be released. No one will be allowed to read the thesis before that date.

Special theses

• DSc. and D.Litt theses for all subjects are kept in the Singleton Park Library. Please ask for them at the Library Desk.