Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding journal articles
Journals are usually published on a regular basis, such as weekly, monthly or quarterly and each issue contains a collection of articles by different authors usually reporting the latest research. You can find all the journals we subscribe to using iFind, the library catalogue.
Journals will be very important to use during your studies, they will provide you with high quality, reliable and up-to-date information. Using articles in assignments will demonstrate you have read widely on your topic. The main way to search for journal articles on your topic is to use a bibliographic database. A database is simply just an organized collection of information or data. Swansea University pay for access to 100s of high quality databases to help you find the best and most up-to-date information for your research. The main databases we recommend are below but remember each database will have different content so it's best to use more than one database to make sure you get all the information you need!
Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) - a huge library of over 2 million TV and radio programmes and feature films that have been broadcast by BBC, ITV, Ch4, Ch5 and over 70 other channels. Create playlists to watch later or edit clips and embed in your presentations.
Key Resources for Mathematics
MathSciNet covers the world's mathematical literature of the past 60 plus years. It provides Web access to reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Review and Current Mathematical Publications. It also provides links to original articles and free access to Featured Reviews.
Journal articles from the publisher Elsevier. Advanced search gives you the option to choose subscribed journals so that you only find results available to you immediately - useful for getting started on a topic.
Web of Science
A scientific citation indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialised sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.
How do I find articles in mathematics
Try our online tutorial to help you find journal articles.
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials. It is unclear what is indexed and how, however, so Google Scholar should be used in conjunction with other academic databases for more reliable results.
It is important to note that on Campus Google Scholar links to some subscribed content. You can enable this feature on your device by going to the Google Menu, Settings, Library links and then selecting Swansea University from the access links for list.
Increasing visibility of Open Access content
Search the world’s largest collection of open access research papers
It's the biggest collection of open access full texts, making it an unparalleled research tool
Read about the huge, global and widely used data hosted by CORE
OpenGrey is an open access multidisciplinary database. It provides references for grey literature including theses, research reports and technical reports.
Troubleshooting online journals
Many of our journals are available online, both on campus and from elsewhere using your Swansea University username and password. The documents below should help with common problems but if you still can't get into something which you think we subscribe to please let us know.