Skip to main content

Document Supply Services: Home

Mae'r dudalen hon hefyd ar gael yn Gymraeg

Online Request Form

Make a Request

Submit an interlibrary loan requestKeyboard image - click to make a request

Search iFind

Search for Open Access articles

Open Access Button

Find free, legal, full-text open access articles

Open Access Button logo

 
Powered by Open Access Button

Service fees 2018/19

Book loans and article requests (UK supplied) Free
Renewal 1 Free (if approved by lending library)
Renewal 2  £5.00 (added to borrower's library account)
Overdue loan fee 20p per day

Interlibrary Loan Service

Our Interlibrary Loan Service provides content not held by Swansea University Libraries to students and staff for private study and non-commercial research. We can locate and supply a loan or copy from another library for you.

  • It is free to make a request, but please note that the cost of obtaining loans and copies is fully subsidised by the Library and casual requests are discouraged.

  • Before making a request, remember to check the iFind library catalogue.

  • We will not normally fulfill requests for content that is already held by Swansea University Libraries.

How to use the service

Interlibrary Loan Icon

Staff: No limit on requests.

Undergraduate Finalists and Postgraduates:  Requests are monitored and may be rejected for individuals placing excessive demand on the service.

 

  • Requests must only be made by the end-user of the content for personal study or non-commercial research.

  • External users are not eligible to use this service, but can enquire with their public library or use the British Library On Demand service.

  • Swansea University business tenants are reminded that any copying which contributes to activities which are directly or indirectly income-generating is classed as commercial.

  • Commercial requests should be made by the individual directly with the British Library On Demand service.

We are able to obtain:

  • Journal articles
  • Book loans
  • Book chapters
  • Conference papers
  • Some dissertations and theses*

We are not usually able to obtain:

  • Multiple articles from a single journal issue. You may request a loan of the journal issue instead.
  • E-publications ahead of print. These are usually only available for purchase direct from the publisher.
  • E-books.
  • British standards, overseas standards and patents. These are usually available electronically and can only be purchased at high cost.
  • Pre-1900 material. Most libraries do not circulate physical copies of pre-1900 material.
  • Translations of foreign language journal articles and texts.
  • Maps.

‚Äč*Dissertations & Theses 

Check British Library EThOS (UK) and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (Global) for free open access before making a request. If a thesis has not been digitised previously and we are unable to obtain a loan, then you may be able to purchase a copy via these services:

Content from The British Library:

Loans usually arrive within one week if supplied by the British Library.

Articles can arrive within two days if you select electronic delivery.

Content from Other Libraries:

Loans and articles obtained from other libraries may take up to two weeks.

Cancelllng a request :

Please contact Document Supply Services.

Loans and printed copies:

These are delivered to your requested pick-up library and you will receive an email notification when they are ready to collect.

Due dates are set by the lending library, but loan periods are typically up to 4 weeks.

Some loans may be restricted for 'library-use only' by the lending library and cannot be removed from the premises.

Articles and chapter copies:

A digital copy will be delivered to your university email address, or, if we cannot obtain a digital copy, a paper copy will be held at your requested library pick-up location.

If your request is available from British Library On Demand, you will receive a download link from noreply@bldss.bl.uk. The download link will expire 30 days from supply, so we recommend downloading your document as soon as possible. Please see the British Library guidance "How to open your On Demand order."

Interlibrary loans are not eligible for automatic renewal

If you would like to renew your loan, please contact us at dscs@swansea.ac.uk. Alternatively, you can complete a pink renewal form at the Library Service Desk.

One renewal is permitted free of charge; any subsequent renewal will be charged to the borrower’s library account at a cost of £5 per item.

Loading ...

Further Information

Using repositories as sources of supply for free online access to scholarly publications.

Increasingly full-text peer reviewed research articles are available through institutional and subject repositories. Open access resources can be used to find published information swiftly and often without cost. Open access material includes journal articles, scholarly and scientific monographs, educational resources, metadata, digitised material and research data.

Search via:

  • Cronfa - Swansea University institutional repository
  • Cronfa E-Theses - Swansea University open access theses
  • arXiV - Open access research papers in physics and related disciplines. This is a subject pre-print service
  • CogPrints – Self-archived papers in Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, Philosophy, Biology
  • CORE - Aggregating the world’s open access research papers
  • DOAB - Discover Open Access books
  • DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
  • Europe PMC - Search worldwide, life-sciences literature
  • HathiTrust Digital Library - Search a collection of millions of digitised titles from Libraries worldwide
  • NORA - NERC Open Research Archive
  • PubMed - Free MEDLINE clinical science and medicine database. Some free articles available
  • RePEc – Research Papers in Economics
  • Unpaywall - An open database for free scholarly articles. Get an Add-on for your browser to automatically check for legal open access articles
  • 1Findr - Curated collection of peer-reviewed articles in Science

Disciplinary and multi disciplinary repositories

  • OAD - An extensive list of OA disciplinary repositories or subject repositories is available via the Open Access Directory (OAD) site.

 

Many UK libraries no longer permit interlibrary loans of higher degree theses, but we can check with the institution on your behalf. You should also check to see if the item you require is an open access full text e-thesis, available from the owning University’s repository. Many recent theses are becoming available via this route.

Finding Swansea University Theses Collection

Some Swansea University electronic theses are available online in our institutional repository, Cronfa.  Alternatively, you can check EThOS, the British Library e-theses online service. You can download many British PhD theses directly from this service once you have registered your email address.  Any theses that have already been digitised, or are available on the owning University's repository are available to download free of charge.


If an open access e-thesis is not available, you can choose to purchase a scanned copy from the British Library Electronic Theses Service - EThOS. You will be required to create a personal account and pay by credit card for first time digitisation of a thesis. Should you wish for your department to pay, please contact Document Supply Services with a payment code from an authorised signatory. Purchased theses are charged at full cost, e.g. an American thesis delivered via Proquest UMI is £30; first time digitisation via EThOS is £58.32. Previously digitised EThOS theses are free to the end user.

How to request material:
Requests for photocopies or the loan of material held by Swansea University can be initiated by emailing us at: dscs@swansea.ac.uk or to our postal address.  Please include your contact phone number, postal and email address with each request.  If you are a customer from the UK, please provide your British Library account number with each request.

Charges:

Copies – £9.55 + VAT (£11.46)

Loans – £15.40

CONARLS members are charged the current rate for the scheme.

We accept IFLA vouchers as payment for international loans or photocopies. 

  • Loan – 3 IFLA
  • Copy – 2 IFLA

Material Availability: 

All items are lent for a period of six weeks and are renewable for a further six weeks unless otherwise indicated. Some items may be restricted for use only within your institution, e.g. theses.  Please check our catalogue before requesting material to make sure that it can be borrowed.

We will lend:

  • Books printed after 1900
  • Theses, for restricted use in your institution (UK libraries only).  Non-UK libraries may request an estimate for supplying a photocopy of a thesis.
Loading ...

CLA Digital Copies for Teaching

Need digitised content for teaching?

Make a Digitisation Request

The Library Scanning Service produce digital copies from library print content so that your students can benefit from direct online access to high-demand course reading. This is a staff-focused service to help with course content provision.

We provide:

  • High-quality digital copies in text-searchable PDF format.
  • Compliance with copyright and CLA HE Licence terms.
  • Online access via user-friendly links.
  • Usage statistics to inform your teaching.

Contact Us

Document Supply Services

Singleton Park Library
Swansea University
Singleton Park
Swansea
SA2 8PP
United Kingdom

Phone: +44 (0)1792 295045     
Email: Document Supply Services

 Facebook

 @SwanseaUniLib

Blue book wrappers

Please note that we charge £2 for books returned without the blue interlibrary loan book wrapper.

Do not remove them from your loaned item.

Copyright statement