Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
3 Minute Thesis Competition
3 Minute Thesis Competition
The Three Minute Thesis (®3MT) competition is a thrilling and prestigious annual event at Swansea university which challenges PhD students to convey their research to a multidisciplinary audience in less than three minutes, with only a single static PowerPoint slide. Qualifying rounds take place during March each year. Finalists are chosen to present at the Swansea University final. It is the highlight of the PGR calendar and an opportunity for PGR students not to be missed. The next competition will take place in March 2021.
E-Thesis Deposit Training
As well as the information available in this Library Guide, the Library Research Support team run training sessions to address the issues relating to providing a full text e-thesis for the institutional repository. The library is able to offer guidance for e-thesis deposit via email or 1-2-1 support.
About E-Theses at Swansea University
The Library offers a mediated E-Theses deposit service for Swansea University PhD theses.
This is an official service in association with Academic Services.
From October 2017, all new PhD and professional doctorate students are required to provide an electronic version of their PhD upon successful completion of their studies.
- There is an expectation that the full-text e-thesis for completed PhDs are deposited in the Research Information System (RIS) for preservation as an institutional record. This is in addition to the usual requirement for paper copies submitted to the Library. The Covid pandemic has meant that any 2020- physical PhD copies remain uncatalogued and inaccessible in the Library and we are seeking to move towards a fully digital self-service.
- The E-Thesis will be added by the repository administrator to Cronfa. An author’s deposit agreement is required before public release of the full-text e-version via Cronfa, the institutional repository.
- Library-mediated release will facilitate version control checks, third party content copyright compliance and technical deposit checks.
- It is the responsibility of the individual to ensure any third party copyright material owned by a third party has been cleared. Further information provided in 'Keeping Your thesis Legal'
Students in receipt of a UKRI doctoral training grant are expected to comply with the policy on open access (TGC 11.5) and must release a full text version of the completed PhD in a repository within 12 months.
Students who are funded independently or by Swansea University are required to comply with the Swansea University Student IP Policy and permit the full-text e-thesis to be available in Cronfa unless they are prohibited from doing so by a commercial sponsor. Full-text open access to the e-thesis should be the default.
- The full-text version of the thesis will be made available online in accordance with any conditions stipulated by the author on the E-Thesis deposit agreement form:
- The bibliographic record and abstract will be made immediately available.
- The author as copyright owner grants Swansea University a license to store a copy of their work and are free to publish the thesis elsewhere.
- Electronic deposit in Cronfa complies with the UKRI open access policy for training grants and research data policies.
- All other postgraduates who wish to provide an open access e-version of their M.Phil. are strongly encouraged to do so. Contact us.
To choose which deposit option is most appropriate for you, consider:
- the requirements of any funding you have received to study
- copyright issues, e.g. if your thesis contains third party content
- sensitive or commercial considerations
- the level of access you wish others to have to your thesis. A temporary bar on access can be selected on the deposit agreement if you are writing a research paper from your PhD
An open access e-thesis:
- Provides a scholarly work that is available online, free of charge to the end user.
- Allows the end-user to share a digital edition and to reuse the content provided they attribute the original author.
- We mint a unique DOI, or Digital Object Identifier to permanently identify your thesis and link to it on the web.