Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide highlights key library resources and information for your subject. Your library subject team can help you with finding information for assignments or research; accessing journals and databases; referencing; and using bibliographic software. Email, live chat or book an appointment to speak with us.
Your library subject team
Faculty of Science & Engineering librarians
Alasdair, Allison, Giles, Philippa & Susan.
Please check the library web site for the latest news about our opening hours and facilities.
Key Resources for Mathematics
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet covers the world's mathematical literature of the past 60 plus years. It provides Web access to reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Review and Current Mathematical Publications. It also provides links to original articles and free access to Featured Reviews.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Journal articles from the publisher Elsevier. Advanced search gives you the option to choose subscribed journals so that you only find results available to you immediately - useful for getting started on a topic.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A scientific citation indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialised sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.
Library Skills Classes
See the full programme here.
Glossary of library terms
iFind, the Library catalogue
Take a look at our guides on how to use iFind, the library catalogue to search for books and other resources.
Your Reading list - iFind Reading
The reading list for your module is an essential source of revision material. You can find your module reading list by searching iFindReading or going to the reading list section of Canvas.