This link opens in a new windowAccess to hundreds of newspapers and other news sources from many countries around the world, including the UK, France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the USA. Nexis contains the text of many newspaper articles from the early 1990s onwards. Some newspapers are available full text from the 1970s and 1980s.
The Financial Times, one of the world’s leading business news organisations, is recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. It provides essential news, comment, data and analysis for the global business community.
The Economist is a weekly magazine covering business, finance, economics, science, technology and the arts. Articles from The Economist can be found in the ProQuest Business Collection.
The ProQuest Business Collection provides access to six key business databases: ABI Inform Complete, Accounting and Tax, Banking Information Source, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), ProQuest Asian Business and Reference, and ProQuest Entrepreneurship.
As well as containing articles from the Economist ProQuest Business Collection provides access to other news items. Search using your keywords then refine by 'Source Type' on the right hand side of the results page.
The UKPressOnline site provides access to the full text of the Daily Express from 1900 to the present. It also includes the Sunday Express, Daily Star and Star Sunday. Full page facsimiles are provided so each issue can be viewed as it would have originally appeared (complete with photos, pictures, adverts etc.).
Welsh Newspapers Online provides free access to about 120 Welsh newspaper publications up to 1919. It includes most of The Cambrian from 1804 to 1910.
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1950s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Cross searches the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century UK Periodicals, British Library Newspapers, Picture Post and Times Digital Archive.
The Library holds all Swansea University theses at doctorate level and some masters. We do not usually keep third year projects or dissertations. Most of our dissertations are kept in locked storage at Singleton Park Campus.
Information about all theses received by the library can be found on iFind, the library catalogue.
In the iFind search box, enter your topic keyword search and the words: swansea thesis. You can then use the Refine bar to limit to a range of years or particular Colleges. If you are particularly interested in recent theses you can change the Sort by menu at the top of the results list to Date descending to bring the most recent to the top.
The dissertations are for reference use only, so they must not be taken out of the library.
Please ask at the Information Desk if you would like to look at a thesis.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering 24-page full text previews for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected previews for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
EThOS has been created to offer a single point of access to UK theses and plays a significant role in showcasing UK research to the world. EThOS, which is hosted by the British Library, has more than 100 UK universities involved in the project and can offer an ever expanding range of titles as full text downloads. If an item you require is already in EThOS then it is immediately available for download to your desktop free of charge; if not, then you can choose to purchase a scanned copy from EThOS.