LibGuides: Management: Data and statistics

Company financial data

FactSet This link opens in a new window FactSet provides data on company, security, event, market, and macroeconomic levels.
You need to ask your lecturer/module coordinator to contact FactSet on your behalf to create an account. Once the account has been created, then FactSet can be accessed via a browser at https://my.apps.factset.com/. If you want to use the FactSet Excel add-in to download data there are 12 terminals in the Finance Lab (Room 269) in the School of Management.
FAME This link opens in a new window FAME is a database that contains information for companies in the UK and Ireland. FAME contains information on 2.8 million companies, 1.9 million of which are in a detailed format. For the top 1.9 million companies the reports typically include: contact information including phone, e-mail and web addresses plus main and other trading addresses, activity details, 29 profit and loss account and 63 balance sheet items, cash flow and ratios, credit score and rating, security and price information (listed companies only), names of bankers, auditors, previous auditors and advisors, details of holdings and subsidiaries (including foreign holdings and subsidiaries), names of current and previous directors with home addresses and shareholder indicator, heads of department, shareholders, news plus access to the scanned image of the latest annual returns and reports.
Nexis This link opens in a new window Access to hundreds of newspapers and other news sources from many countries around the world, including the UK, France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the USA. Nexis contains the text of many newspaper articles from the early 1990s onwards. Some newspapers are available full text from the 1970s and 1980s.
- This link opens in a new window
To search Newspapers, click on News on the toolbar at the top. Or you can click on “All Content Types” and then select News before searching.
LSEG Workspace (Refinitiv/Eikon/Datastream) This link opens in a new window
LSEG Workspace has restricted access. If you need to use this resource ask your module co-ordinator or dissertation supervisor to contact the library team at SoMLibrary@swansea.ac.uk

Economics, Equities, Stock & Bond Market Indices, Exchange rates, Interest rates:

LSEG Workspace (Refinitiv/Eikon/Datastream) This link opens in a new window Content and features - Financial modelling - Datastream macroeconomic analysis - Private company profiles - Emerging markets coverage - Reuters news and analytics - Fundamentals
LSEG Workspace has restricted access. If you need to use this resource ask your module co-ordinator or dissertation supervisor to contact the library team at SoMLibrary@swansea.ac.uk

Consumer, market reports and statistics

MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window Contains 1000’s of reports such as company profiles (including SWOT analyses), industry profiles, country profiles (including PESTLE analyses), case studies, news and financial deals.
If you are accessing MarketLine off campus, you will need to click 'Shibboleth' on the sign in page and then select Swansea University as your institution.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window Contains market research reports on food, drink, leisure, technology, e-commerce, travel and sustainability. There are also reports on trends, brands, lifestyle (UK) and attitudes & trends (China).
If you are accessing Mintel off campus, you will need to click 'Federated login' on the sign in page and then select Swansea University as your institution.
Statista This link opens in a new window With a global focus Statista provides the latest and most relevant facts and data on markets, consumers and industries. It covers 1.9m statistics, forecasts and studies on 80,000 topics and 170 industries worldwide. Data can be easily downloaded to most commonly used formats.

School of Management databases

The School of Management offers access to several expert financial databases.

Wharton Research Data Services
WDRS is a platform that hosts the financial databases provided by the School of Management. To access the databases you will need to to apply for a WRDS account. Databases include Compustat: Research Insight North America and CSMAR.
more...less...
Next to the “Login” tab, you will see a tab entitled “Register” – click on this tab.
Fill out the account request form.
Click the “Submit” button.
Note: You must also agree to the WRDS Terms of Use to complete your account application.

FactSet This link opens in a new window
FactSet provides data on company, security, event, market, and macroeconomic levels.
You need to ask your lecturer/module coordinator to contact FactSet on your behalf to create an account. Once the account has been created, then FactSet can be accessed via a browser at https://my.apps.factset.com/. If you want to use the FactSet Excel add-in to download data there are 12 terminals in the Finance Lab (Room 269) in the School of Management.

Financial data for banks and other financial institutions

S&P Capital IQ (Pro) This link opens in a new window
S&P Capital IQ (Pro) provides access to current and historical financial data and news for over 50,000 banks globally.
Why use S&P Capital IQ (Pro)
- S&P Capital IQ (Pro) provides financial data for over 50,000 banks and financial institutions
- Global coverage
- Create alerts
- News and reports about relevant companies and markets
- In-built analysis tools
You can use S&P Capital IQ (Pro) to download data via Excel. To do this you need to use the University Remote PC access service. When logged into the remote PC go to the Unified Desktop, then School of Management, Specialist Apps and click on the icon named 'SNL-Excel Plugin'.

Mergers & Acquisitions; Deals; IPOs

Orbis M&A This link opens in a new window Contains Mergers & Acquisitions, IPO and venture capital deals with links to detailed financial company information.

All topics: UK & Europe

Office for National Statistics This link opens in a new window ONS is the official UK statistics site for health, education, social issues, economics, commerce and labour and all government policy areas, including Census 2021.
UK Data Service This link opens in a new window The UK Data Service is a comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC and provides a single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data from 1971 to 2011.
EuroStat This link opens in a new window The Statistical Office of the European Communities in Luxembourg is known as Eurostat. Eurostat does not collect data itself, but gathers data from the official statistical agencies in member countries. It then has to ensure that the data is harmonized so that meaningful comparisons can be made across several countries.
StatsWales This link opens in a new window
Statista This link opens in a new window With a global focus Statista provides the latest and most relevant facts and data on markets, consumers and industries. It covers 1.9m statistics, forecasts and studies on 80,000 topics and 170 industries worldwide. Data can be easily downloaded to most commonly used formats.