LibGuides: Grey literature: Swanea University's Collections

Our collections

This page provides a drop-down list of information about different types of archive collections, and links to archive catalogues for further information. Our collections include material in a wide range of formats such as letters, diaries, minutes, registers, reports, photographs, ephemera and memorabilia. They cover a wide range of topics - have a look at our Research Ideas Tab for some ideas. We also hold the institutional archives of the University since its opening in 1920. The collections can be consulted in our Reading Room. For more information on visiting please see our website.

Richard Burton Archives

Catalogues

Archives Catalogue
Coalfield Web Materials: CWM Project The CWM Project, created here at Swansea University, provides access to materials which capture aspects of the social, political and cultural life of the South Wales Coalfield during the 19th and 20th centuries. The site includes audio and video clips from interviews with miners, politicians and trade unionists and also photographs which illustrate all aspects of life in the coalfield.
South Wales Coalfield Collection (SWCC) The South Wales Coalfield Collection (SWCC) contains a variety of archival media which give insight into the experience of the South Wales Valleys during a period of industrial turmoil both from an institutional and personal perspective. It contains records of trade unions (notably the South Wales Miners' Federation, later the National Union of Mineworkers (South Wales Area) and the Iron and Steel Trades Confederation, South Wales Division), Miners' Institutes, Co-operative Societies, and individuals connected with the mining community.
Archives Hub: Richard Burton Archives

Other collections in Swansea

Many of the collections at the Richard Burton Archives are complemented by holdings elsewhere, including: