iFind is the main way to search resources provided by Swansea University Library.
You can use the search box below or go directly to it via the Library home page or your MyUni page.
Click on the this box's tabs above for more help with using iFind.
This guide will help you use our catalogue more effectively.
These tutorials cover:
This guide shows you how to find an item in the library.
Swansea University Library operates an Automatic Renewal System meaning items on loan from the library will be automatically renewed until they are returned. Unless they are requested!
It is, therefore, very important that you Request the books you want if they're out on loan.
If you don't, the library has no way of knowing you need them and they will continue to stay with the reader who currently has them.
Once you have requested an item it will be recalled for you and you can collect it from the Information Desk as soon as it is back in the Library.
If the resource you need for your studies is not held in the Library, our Document Supply Service can check to see if it can be obtained for you from another library.
Click here to see a short video showing you how to place a request for an item from another library.
If you would like to suggest an item for purchase by the Library, please submit a request for us to consider.
Books and journals relevant to Interpretation Studies are in various parts of the library. Most are at call numbers P306 - P308 on Level 1 West.
Most general language dictionaries are in the Study Hall Reference Collection at the following call numbers:
| English | PE279 - PE3727 |
| Arabic | PJ6640 |
| Chinese | PL1145 – PL1488 |
| French | PC2075 – PC3747 |
| German | PF3120-PF4327 |
| Greek | PA1139 |
| Italian | PC1130-PC1977 |
| Polish | PG6640 |
| Portuguese | PC5145 – PC5335 |
| Russian | PG2127-PG2693 |
| Spanish | PC4031 – PC4797 |
| Welsh | PB2190-PB2194 |
Business dictionaries are at HB61, HF1001 and HF1002. Banking and finance - HG151. Management terms - HD30.15
Scientific dictionaries are at Q, R and T, (for example computing terms at QA76.15, biological terms - QH, aeronautical engineering - TL509, medical terms - R121).
Legal dictionaries are at K120, in the Law Library, Level 4 East.
Below is a sample of key e-Book Collections for Interpretation Studies.
For the complete list please use the Subject Resources box.
Watch this short video, showing you how you can search for, access and download e-books.
The Cysgliad 3 package (Welsh spell checker, grammar checker, thesaurus and dictionary) is available on the student network.
Please access this by bringing up the Swansea University Unified Desktop ( 
icon on your taskbar) > expanding Common Apps (by clicking on the sign in front of it) > and clicking on Cysgliad.
All journals that we pay for are listed on iFind, the library catalogue. (please use the box above)
If you have a reference on a reading list etc. you can go straight to iFind and do a 'Journal Title' search for the journal.
iFind also includes details of individual articles - click on the Articles & more tab to search these. If you want to search for articles on a particular topic select 'anywhere in the record'. If you want to search for a specific article, select 'in the title' and enter the title of the article. You can also search for articles by a particular author, select 'as author/creator' to do this.
Note: Your results will include articles from newspapers as well as from journals.
Even though you can use iFind to locate journal articles on a topic or by a particular author, if you want to carry out a more thorough search it is better to use electronic databases.
Some of these databases (e.g. JSTOR) contain full-text articles, while others (e.g the MLA Bibliography and Web of Science) contain only a citation (or record) and abstract (a summary) of the article. In this case you will often see a 'iGetIt' link which you can click on to see if we hold the article here.
A few of the main databases for finding journal articles are listed below.
For the complete list please use the Subject Resources box.
To use most databases on- or off-campus you need to use your Swansea University login details.
JSTOR contains the full text of journals, usually from their beginning up to about 5 years ago. For more recent years, links to the full text of articles on external sites is often given. Subjects covered include ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language and literature, mathematics and statistics, philosophy, sociology, anthropology, politics and population studies.
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
The MLA International Bibliography gives details of most journal articles and books on modern languages and literatures (including English) from the 1920s to the present. It also has details of many journal articles and books on linguistics, folklore and film. It does not include book reviews. It is part of the EBSCOhost Database Service. It can be searched individually or in combination with other EBSCOhost databases.
A scientific citation indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialised sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.
For a wide selection of foreign-language newspapers please use the databases below.
This link opens in a new windowBelow is a sample of useful web resources for Translation Studies.
Try this online exercise to sharpen your search skills and get you looking for journal articles.
Click on the button below to see a list of all our databases relevant to Interpretation Studies.
Refine your search further by choosing a Type of database from the All Database Types drop-down list.
Subject Resources for Interpreting Studies
Should you experience a problem accessing our Subject Resources please check our ISS Service Status pages to see if the problem has already been reported.
If it has not been reported yet, please use the Service Desk to let us know.
Reference books are often particularly useful when you are beginning to look for information on a topic. Our Study Hall Reference Collection contains many reference works useful for Translation Studies, for example:
Translation : an international encyclopedia of translation studies P306 .U24 2004
The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics P29 ENC2
Encyclopedia of Literary Translation into English PN241.E56 ENC