It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Swansea University staff and students have free access to the newspaper archives below in addition to sites available anywhere on the Internet. There are links to all the newspaper resources we subscribe to (in addition to some free web resources) iniFind. Click on the Subject Resources tab to see a full listing of the news and newspaper resources we subscribe to.
The UKPressOnline site provides access to the full text of the Daily Mirror from 1903 to the present and the Daily Express from 1900 to the present. It also includes the Sunday Express, Daily Star and Star Sunday. Full page facsimiles are provided so each issue can be viewed as it would have originally appeared (complete with photos, pictures, adverts etc.).
Access to hundreds of newspapers and other news sources from many countries around the world, including the UK, France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the USA. NexisUK contains the text of many newspaper articles from the early 1990s onwards. Some newspapers are available full text from the 1970s and 1980s. To search Newspapers, click on News on the toolbar at the top. Or you can click on “All Content Types” and then select News before searching.
Click the Nexis title above
Click on the Full Text Availability link to Nexis
Click on News tab
PressReader is Swansea public libraries eNewspaper service. It provides access to a growing list of 8,000+ full-content newspapers and magazines. It includes the Guardian, The South Wales Evening Post and Y Cymro. If you are already a member of Swansea public libraries, you will automatically have access to this service - you will just need to download the PressReader app from your app store. If you are not a member of the public libraries, you can apply to join online. Click the PressReader link above for more information.
The British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). At more than twelve hundred titles, this is the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.
The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 70 newspapers selected by the British Library to represent nineteenth century Britain. It includes national and regional newspapers and can be particularly useful if you are researching local or family history.
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
The 'Chronicling America' site includes over 10 million pages of digitized historic newspaper content dating from 1836 to 1922. It is a Library of Congress and National Endowment for the Humanities (part of the National Digital Newspaper Program - NDNP) project.