Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: Archives

Mae'r dudalen hon hefyd ar gael yn Gymraeg

Archive, Research and Special Collections

This page highlights some of the archive, research and special collections we hold in our libraries.  You can also find links to useful online Archives sites by clicking on the Subject Resources tab.

Special Collections

 

A number of special collections of books, such as the recently donated Allan Milne Collection (on the American Civil War), are held in Stores in the Library and Information Centre. These are mostly bequests or donations. Much of the material is not borrowable, and some may only be consulted under special conditions. Most items may be found in the iFind  catalogue. Please ask at the Information Desk for details of access to this special collection material.  You can find out more on our Special Collections web page.

Alan Milne Collection - American Civil War

The Allan Milne Collection, of over 2,500 books on the American Civil War, is located in a store Level 2 West of the Library and Information Centre. It includes many primary source materials, such as diaries, autobiographies and soldiers' letters. It is one of the largest collections of materials relating to the Civil War in the United Kingdom and is of great value to many researchers and students.

You can either search on iFind for specific items in the Milne Collection and ask at the Issue Desk to view them or you can generally browse the collection if a member of the Arts and Humanities Library Team accompanies you.

To search iFind – carry out a search and then limit your results to items in the Milne Collection by using the Refine My Results column on the left of the page (just click on ‘LIC - Milne Collection – Locked Store’ under Location). Make a list of titles and call numbers then ask at the Issue Desk to see these items – staff can pick them up for you at 11am or 3pm daily during the week.

To view the collection, contact us for an appointment at:

artslib@swansea.ac.uk

If you are a dissertation student or researcher, you may be able to have your card activated to access the collection (email us to ask about this).

You can find further information about the collection here.

South Wales Miners' Library Research Collections

 

The collections held at the South Wales Miners' Library (located at Hendrefoelan Student Village) explore the political, social and cultural aspects of industrial South Wales. The South Wales Coalfield Collection (SWCC) is the largest research collection, but the library holds numerous smaller collections donated by academics, politicians, institutions and workers. These provide valuable resources for research across numerous disciplines, including Industrial History, English Literature, Politics, Astronomy and Philosophy. Check out the DACE's Research Collections page for further information.

Archive and Research Collections

Our Archive and Research Collections web page gives links to information about the historical research collections we hold.  These collections are housed in the Richard Burton Archives, South Wales Miners’ Library and in our Rare Books which are kept in the Document Supply office. 

Archives web sites