Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Help with other resources
This page highlights other important resources. Don't forget to also check the subject resources widget on the Key Resources tab. If you have any questions or need any help, please email - firstname.lastname@example.org
Nexis This link opens in a new windowAccess to hundreds of newspapers and other news sources from many countries around the world, including the UK, France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the USA. NexisUK contains the text of many newspaper articles from the early 1990s onwards. Some newspapers are available full text from the 1970s and 1980s.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowWhen accessing this resource off campus, a webpage with a login box will appear. Rather than entering your details, look for the link called “Shibboleth users click here” towards the bottom left of the Screen. Click on it and then click “Login via your home institution”.
The Times Archive provides the entire Times newspaper, from its beginning in 1785 up to 2010, including articles, photographs, letters and advertisements.
UK Press Online This link opens in a new windowThe UKPressOnline site provides access to the full text of the Daily Mirror from 1903 to the present and the Daily Express from 1900 to the present. It also includes the Sunday Express, Daily Star and Star Sunday. Full page facsimiles are provided so each issue can be viewed as it would have originally appeared (complete with photos, pictures, adverts etc.).
17th-18th century Burney Collection newspapers This link opens in a new windowWhen accessing this resource off campus, a webpage with a login box will appear. Rather than entering your details, look for the link called “Shibboleth users click here” towards the bottom left of the Screen. Click on it and then click “Login via your home institution”.
The British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). At more than twelve hundred titles, this is the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.
Proquest US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowUS Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Box of Broadcasts
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new windowBox of Broadcasts (BoB) - llyfrgell enfawr o dros 2 filiwn o raglenni teledu a radio a ffilmiau nodwedd sydd wedi'u darlledu gan y BBC, ITV, Ch4, Ch5 a dros 70 o sianeli eraill. Creu rhestri chwarae i wylio yn hwyrach neu olygu clipiau a'u hymgorffori yn eich cyflwyniadau.
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) - a huge library of over 2 million TV and radio programmes and feature films that have been broadcast by BBC, ITV, Ch4, Ch5 and over 70 other channels. Create playlists to watch later or edit clips and embed in your presentations.
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) - a huge library of over 2 million TV and radio programmes and feature films that have been broadcast by BBC, ITV, Ch4, Ch5 and over 70 other channels. Create playlists to watch later or edit clips and embed in your presentations
Dissertations & Theses
Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Dissertations & Theses incorporates two databases which can be searched individually or cross searched. Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland covers theses accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland. It covers the years from 1716 up to almost the present. Dissertations & Theses: A&I covers American and International theses from 1861 to the present date. Dissertations & Theses: A & I is strong on theses from the USA but poor for the rest of the world. For post 1997 theses, 24 page previews are included in both databases. For a minority of theses, links to the full text are provided.
EThOS This link opens in a new window
Search over 400,000 doctoral theses. Download instantly for your research, or order a scanned copy quickly and easily.
Library of Congress Catalog This link opens in a new windowThe Library of Congress website provides access to online historical sources for American History. It includes the "American Memory" collection - a digital library of historic maps, photos, documents, audio and video clips related to American history. It also includes the "Chronicling America" project, providing access to a selection of digitized historic newspapers.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Digital National Security Archive gives access to declassified U.S. government documents, providing primary source material to advance research in twentieth and twenty-first century history, politics, and international relations. The digitized documents are made available in over 40 topic-based collections, with two new collections added each year.