Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using this page
On this page we have highlighted some particularly useful and broad ranging databases that are great places to find journal articles and start your research. We also have a fuller listing of all the resources you might need while studying American Studies here. If you need any help, you can email us at email@example.com
American History 1493-1945
This collection of primary sources documents American History from the Civil War to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection. *Note: Despite the title, our access only covers 1860-1945.
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
ACLS Humanities e-books
Humanities E-Book is a digital collection offered by the ACLS in collaboration with ten learned societies, nearly 80 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.
Library of Congress Catalog
The Library of Congress website provides access to online historical sources for American History. It includes the "American Memory" collection - a digital library of historic maps, photos, documents, audio and video clips related to American history. It also includes the "Chronicling America" project, providing access to a selection of digitized historic newspapers.
International Bibliography of Social Sciences (IBSS) includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
This is a list of the databases that are relevant to American Studies students. Please explore this a-z or look at the following pages for more guidance to the databases. If you click 'view more results' you can explore all our databases, access database descriptions and filter by database type.