Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Help finding journals
This page highlights some key ways to find journals, there are further resources listed in the subject resources widget on the Key Resources tab. If you have any questions or need any help, please email - firstname.lastname@example.org
Download the browser extension to easily access full-text journal articles within our subscriptions when you are browsing the web and databases.
Key Journal Databases
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Online (LION) is one of the most valuable Web sites for English and American literature. It contains the text of over 350,000 works of literature, including most English poetry and drama written before 1900, an increasing number of twentieth-century English poems, many English works of fiction written before 1900 and much American poetry and drama from 1600 to the present. The Search Criticism and Reference section allows users to search ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) from its beginning in 1920 until the present and to search and view the full text of articles within over a hundred journals written in recent years. It is also possible to search major reference works and Web sites.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Literature One is a new database replacing Literature Online. It contains all of Literature Online’s content and adds even more content, including a wider and more diverse focus. It has much more criticism and you can keep all your saves from your Literature Online account seamlessly.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography gives details of most journal articles and books on modern languages and literatures (including English) from the 1920s to the present. It also has details of many journal articles and books on linguistics, folklore and film. It does not include book reviews. It is part of the Proquest Social Sciences and Humanities Database Service. It can be searched individually or in combination with other Proquest Social Sciences and Humanities Databases. BHI (British Humanities Index) can also be useful.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE features a collection of online scholarly journals that focuses on arts and humanities, compiled by the Johns Hopkins University Press in collaboration with the Milton S. Eisenhower Library.
IBSS This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Social Sciences (IBSS) includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals archive online is an archive of eighty digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A scientific citation indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialised sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.
Finding Articles & Print Journals
All journals that we pay for are listed on iFind, the library catalogue. If you have a reference on a reading list etc. you can go straight to iFind and do a 'Journal Title' search for the journal. iFind also includes details of individual articles - click on the Articles & more tab to search these. If you want to search for articles on a particular topic select 'anywhere in the record'. If you want to search for a specific article, select 'in the title' and enter the title of the article. You can also search for articles by a particular author, select 'as author/creator' to do this. Note: Your results will include articles from newspapers as well as from journals.
Even though you can use iFind to locate journal articles on a topic or by a particular author, if you want to carry out a more thorough search it is better to use electronic databases. Some of these databases (e.g. JSTOR) contain full-text articles, while others (e.g Web of Science) contain only a citation (or record) and abstract (a summary) of the article. In this case you will often see a 'iGetIt@Swansea University' link which you can click on to see if we hold the article here.
You can try this online exercise to sharpen your search skills and get you looking for journal articles.