Skip to main content

Institutional Repository: Home

Introduction to RIS and Cronfa

Contact Us

For help or advice with any Open Access or Institutional Repository queries:

Telephone: 01792 604567

Email us

Follow us on Twitter

Follow our Blog

Cronfa, Swansea University Repository

Video

Policies

RIS & Cronfa

About RIS and Cronfa

Swansea University's Research Information System (RIS) is designed to be a single, central repository of published and ongoing research at the University. All research publications authored or co-authored by Swansea University staff can be uploaded into RIS and this feeds the following services:

  • Cronfa, is the University's open access research repository. It contains journal articles, books, book chapters, research theses, conference and workshop papers, data, reports, working papers and more
  • The "Publications" section of Staff web pages
  • The research staff PDR process in ABW
  • The University's REF submissions
  • Central reporting and the annual list of research publications

The University Open Access policy requires that all research is recorded in our institutional repository, and that Accepted Manuscripts are uploaded and made available where possible.

Cronfa Policy

Terms of Use

Full text items deposited in Cronfa are subject to copyright. Conditions of use vary and copyright may be indicated on the page associated with each item.

Anyone may access the metadata free of charge. Metadata may be used or reproduced in any format or medium, without prior permission for not-for-profit purposes provided the OAI identifier or a link to the original metadata record are given.

Swansea University bears no responsibility for any infringements of third-party copyright.

About Cronfa

Published research uploaded into the Swansea University Research Information System (RIS) will automatically be made available through Cronfa, the University's Open Access Repository (https://Cronfa.swansea.ac.uk). The repository will preserve a copy of the research output for a minimum of 10 years, and will use best endeavours to ensure continued readability and accessibility. This means that items may be migrated to new file formats where necessary.

RIS/Cronfa Content and Collection Policy
RIS will contain any material that relates to research output, including:

  • journal articles
  • conference and workshop papers
  • theses completed by Swansea University Research Degree students
  • unpublished reports and working papers
  • books, chapters and sections
  • data sets
  • multimedia and audio-visual meterials
  • patents

Data Policy

Access : Anyone may access items free of charge

General Policy
Items may be reproduced, displayed, performed or given to third parties for:

  • personal research or study, educational purposes, not-for-profit purposes without prior permission

provided:

  • the authors, title and full bibliographic details are given or, a url for the original metadata page is given
  • the content is not changed in any way

Reuse Conditions

  • Full items must not be sold commercially without formal permission of the copyright holders
  • Full items must not be harvested by robots except transiently for full-text indexing or citation analysis
  • Some items are individually tagged with different rights permissions and conditions
Licence and Reuse Information

Full-text items deposited in Cronfa are subject to copyright. Unless indicated otherwise, all rights are reserved and items may only be used in accordance with national copyright laws. Users may make a single copy for the purpose of non-commercial research or private study within the limits of fair dealing under the copyright exception in section 29 of the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988.

The publisher or other rights holders may allow further reproduction and re-use of the full text version. Where records identify the publisher as the copyright holder, users can verify any specific terms of use on the publisher’s website.

Creative Commons (CC) licences are the most frequently applied licences for Open Access (OA) content. The most popular CC licences for OA research outputs:

Attribution (CC BY)
This licence allows users to use an item in any way, including commercially, as long as they credit the creator of the original work.

Attribution-NonCommercial (CC BY-NC)
This licence allows users to use an item in any way, as long as they credit the creator of the original work. Their work must be non-commercial.

Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND)
This licence allows users to download and share an item without making any adaptations. They must credit the creator and they can't use the work commercially.

Other CC licences are available on their website: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/

Licence information included in Cronfa is correct to the best of our knowledge at the time. We may manipulate, redact or remove any part of the repository content at our sole discretion. If you consider content to be in breach of UK law please contact us including the URL of the record and the reason for the withdrawal request.

1. Items will be retained for at least 10 years from the date of deposit.

2. The repository will try to ensure continued readability and accessibility.

3. Items will be migrated to new file formats where necessary, however it may not be possible to guarantee the readability of some unusual file formats.

4. The repository regularly backs up its files according to current best practice.

5. In the event of the repository being closed down, the database will be transferred to another appropriate archive.

The repository is controlled in accordance with the Data Protection Act.

Loading ...

Research Information System (RIS)

  • All members of staff have access to RIS via home.swan. You can upload documents yourself provided that you either own the copyright or your publisher permits deposit. That can be checked in Sherpa Romeo or contact the team if you need advice.
  • It is your responsibility to make sure that content uploaded to Cronfa is not infringing copyright. The system allows documents to be embargoed if your publisher requires that.
  • Ideally documents should be deposited on acceptance for publication to be certain of meeting HEFCE REF requirements.
  • PDF documents are recommended as these are widely accessible. You may also deposit Docx,TIFF, PostScript and PowerPoint files.
  • You must ensure that any deposit does not infringe the rights of any other person or organisation or include any defamatory or sensitive information. Care must be taken to ensure that there is no risk of data protection infringement with any data content.
  • Research outputs disseminated via Cronfa are easily searchable, free to the user and are immediately available subject to publisher copyright restrictions
  • Cronfa gives researchers the opportunity to promote their research across a global platform
  • The University benefits from having a shop window of accessible research which helps to draw in potential students, staff, investors or collaborators
  • Each item deposited in the institutional repository has a permanent URL associated with it
  • The content of this repository is indexed in Google and other online services

1. The copyright of the work remains with the author or publisher depending on the copyright transfer agreement signed by the author.

2. It is the author’s responsibility to check the deposit for appropriate copyright clearance. The SHERPA/RoMEO database provides information on publisher copyright policies and self-archiving.

3. Full-text items deposited in Cronfa are subject to copyright. Unless indicated otherwise, all rights are reserved and items must only be used in accordance with national copyright laws.

4. The publisher or other rights holders may allow further reproduction and re-use of the full text version. Where records identify the publisher as the copyright holder, users can verify any specific terms of use on the publisher’s website.

5. Copyright in all theses uploaded to Cronfa:

Copyright remains with the original author of the work unless the author has signed an ownership agreement with a third party. The author retains the right to publish the work in its present version or future versions elsewhere. The rights granted to the Swansea University repository are non-exclusive and royalty free.

6. Licence information included in Cronfa is correct to the best of our knowledge.

Authors are strongly encouraged to retain the specific rights to self-archive published works. As the creator of a work, copyright is normally your own property unless you transfer it to another party or it is owned by your employer. However, despite the fact that you are not obliged to transfer exclusive copyright, most academic publishers of traditional subscription journals expect you to do so as a condition of publication. It is accepted that normally you will own the copyright in the first draft; upon acceptance for publication you will be required to assign copyright in subsequent versions to the publisher by signing a copyright transfer agreement.

Funder and institutional policies usually require grant outputs to be available in an open access repository, so it is recommended that you consider the rights that you wish to retain before you sign any agreement. You can negotiate with your publisher to retain all the rights needed for optimal self-archiving online, or publish your work using the open access model. It is acceptable to request an alternative publication agreement.

Use a Scholar's Addendum
The Swansea University Amendment to Publication Agreement allows you to retain digital usage and access rights when transferring copyright to the publisher. Download and print the addendum (link below), complete and sign. Send a copy to your publisher with a request that they sign it and append it to the copyright transfer agreement. You should keep signed copies of any agreement or licence that you make with your publisher.

Further information is available from our Copyright Library Guide

The publisher policy will specify which version you can upload. This could be:

  • Pre-print version: normally the author’s pre-review draft, accepted for publication but no peer review will have taken place. Most publishers allow archiving of pre-prints without restriction. 
  • Author accepted manuscript (post-print) version: normally the final peer-reviewed article that has been accepted for publication but has not been formatted with the publisher’s final layout. Copyright and/or other publication rights are normally transferred to the publisher via a publishing agreement so you should check if you are permitted to archive this version. Self-archiving embargo periods may apply.
  • Published version (version of record) PDF incorporating the layout and typographical arrangement of the publisher and usually providing a link to the published pay-wall version. You cannot normally upload the publisher-created pdf version to Cronfa for archiving unless you have the publisher’s permission. You can deposit the published version if you have paid an article processing charge fee to the journal for gold open access.
  • Consider your funder requirements. Check the SHERPA/FACT funders and authors compliance tool.
Loading ...

Meet the Team

Research Information System (RIS) User Guide

Go to

Go to

Quick Link

Publisher copyright policies & self-archiving

Quick Link

Funders & Authors Compliance Tool