Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding journal articles
This section contains:
- guides and links for databases for finding articles.
- our tutorial on finding articles for biology, designed to help with your project work.
- a link to browzine which lets you browse bioscience journals.
- some troubleshooting information in case you have problems with online journals.
Key Resources for Biosciences
More tools are listed in the Useful resources box and don't forget to try iFind.
Proquest Biological Science
This database offers access to a range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Full text is available.
Journal articles from the publisher Elsevier. Advanced search gives you the option to choose subscribed journals so that you only find results available to you immediately - useful for getting started on a topic.
Scopus is an abstract database of quality research literature across a wide range of subjects. It allows you to track citations.
Web of Science
A good starting point for biosciences topics. This is not a full text database but the iGetit@swansea link will allow you to check whether an article is available to you. Choose Core collection in the drop down list of databases to get the full range of search options.
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials. It is unclear what is indexed and how, however, so Google Scholar should be used in conjunction with other academic databases for more reliable results.
It is important to note that on Campus Google Scholar links to some subscribed content. You can enable this feature on your device by going to the Google Menu, Settings, Library links and then selecting Swansea University from the access links for list.
Inter-Library loan request
If Swansea doesn't have access to the article you want our Document Supply service may be able to get a copy. Remember to plan ahead if you need this as items can take some time to arrive.
How do I find articles in science subjects?
Increasing visibility of Open Access content
Search the world’s largest collection of open access research papers
It's the biggest collection of open access full texts, making it an unparalleled research tool
Read about the huge, global and widely used data hosted by CORE
OpenGrey is an open access multidisciplinary database. It provides references for grey literature including theses, research reports and technical reports.
Troubleshooting online journals
Many of our journals are available online, both on campus and from elsewhere using your Swansea University username and password. The documents below should help with common problems but if you still can't get into something which you think we subscribe to please let us know.