Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering: Journals & Databases

Mae'r dudalen hon hefyd ar gael yn Gymraeg

Finding journal articles

Journals are usually published on a regular basis, such as weekly, monthly or quarterly and each issue contains a collection of articles by different authors usually reporting the latest research.  You can find all the journals we subscribe to using iFind, the library catalogue. 

Journals will be very important to use during your studies, they will provide you with high quality, reliable and up-to-date information.  Using articles in assignments will demonstrate you have read widely on your topic.  The main way to search for journal articles on your topic is to use a bibliographic database.  A database is simply just an organized collection of information or data.  Swansea University pay for access to 100s of high quality databases to help you find the best and most up-to-date information for your research.  The main databases we recommend are below but remember each database will have different content so it's best to use more than one database to make sure you get all the information you need!

Box of Broadcasts (BoB)

iFind, the Library catalogue

Take a look at our guides on how to use iFind, the library catalogue to search for books and other resources.

Advanced Search

Finding Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles Short Course

This short course provides an introduction to finding journal articles. Click the link below to launch the course.

Introduction to finding journal articles short course

Finding journal articles (Advanced search strategies)

Finding Journal Articles (Advanced Search Strategies)

The following short course provides guidance on advance search strategies for finding journal articles. It should only take 5-10 minutes to complete. Click the link below to launch the course.

Finding Journal Artciles Advanced Short Course image

Web of Science

Scopus

Google Scholar

CORE

Increasing visibility of Open Access content

Unlocked padlock logoCORE

Search the world’s largest collection of open access research papers

It's the biggest collection of open access full texts, making it an unparalleled research tool

Read about the huge, global and widely used data hosted by CORE

OpenGrey

OpenGrey is an open access multidisciplinary database. It provides references for grey literature including theses, research reports and technical reports.

Knovel

Troubleshooting online journals

Many of our journals are available online, both on campus and from elsewhere using your Swansea University username and password. The documents below should help with common problems but if you still can't get into something which you think we subscribe to please let us know.

Journals