LibGuides: Engineering: Data & Reports

Materials properties and other textbook information for Engineering subjects

Knovel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Knovel provides general reference and best practice insights, process and design applications, material and substance properties data, and equations for specific engineering disciplines.

Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
A collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information.

British Standards Online This link opens in a new window Standards define best practice in many different areas. They’re put together by groups of experts and come in a number of different kinds, from a set of definitions to a series of strict rules.
To view British Standards Online documents you will need to download and open the PDF file in a PDR reader such as Adobe Reader. You will also be asked to download and install the FileOpen plug in as the documents are made secure using this application.
If you encounter any issues opening the standard, please try opening from your Downloads folder, by right-clicking (or using Command key on iOS) and selecting "Open with Adobe Acrobat Reader".
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window IEEE Xplore is a full text database giving access to all IEEE journals and most conference papers - useful for students in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.If you are accessing IEEE off campus, you will need to click 'Shibboleth' on the sign in page and then select Swansea University as your institution.

Intellectual Property Office: Patents The Patents Publication Enquiry Service covers all GB applications published and granted after 3 January 2007 and all GB corrected documents published after 1 April 2010.
Espacenet Patent Register (EPO European Patent Office) Espacenet offers free access to more than 90 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today. The databases covers patents from 90+ patent authorities around the world.
Espacenet - Worldwide Patent Search Espacenet - worldwide database includes full collection of published patent applications from 80+ countries around the world. You can choose to search the entire patent database, or to link to a patent office database by country (e.g GB Espacenet).
Patentscope (WIPO)
US Patent and Trademark Office
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Patent Cooperation Treaty - WIPO provides access to a database of published international patent applications.

Jane's Air & Space Jane’s All the World Aircraft is an aviation annual publication founded by Fred T. Jane in 1909. It is published by Jane’s Information Group. Jane's All the World Aircraft provides technical detail on civil and military aircraft in production and under development. Information includes aircraft platforms, systems and technologies, photographs, line drawings, key contacts, programmes and customers.

MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window Contains 1000’s of reports such as company profiles (including SWOT analyses), industry profiles, country profiles (including PESTLE analyses), case studies, news and financial deals.
If you are accessing MarketLine off campus, you will need to click 'Shibboleth' on the sign in page and then select Swansea University as your institution.
Statista This link opens in a new window