Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where should I look for journal articles?
Use iFind or subject specialist databases to search through hundreds of different online journals to find articles on a particular topic. The databases below are particularly good for Education students.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete covers a range of subjects and all levels of education from early years to higher education. Content includes academic journals, teaching magazines and conference papers.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Journal articles from the publisher Elsevier. Includes journals for the social sciences, so can be useful for Education.
ASSIA This link opens in a new window
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains over 375,000 records from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
Finding Journal Articles
Finding Journal Articles Short Course
This short course provides an introduction to finding journal articles. Click the link below to launch the course.
Finding journal articles (Advanced search strategies)
Finding Journal Articles (Advanced Search Strategies)
The following short course provides guidance on advance search strategies for finding journal articles. It should only take 5-10 minutes to complete. Click the link below to launch the course.
Community Care Inform Children This link opens in a new windowCCI Children has been built with and for social workers and other professionals who work with children, young people and their families. The overall aim of the site is to improve standards of practice by equipping practitioners with the information they need to confidently make informed decisions and assessments; stay on top of the latest guidance, good practice, research, legislation and case law; and to actively expand their knowledge base by learning through case work.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new windowA free database. Indexes publications (journals and grey literature) in the field of education. Searches can be limited to peer-reviewed items only. Some items are full-text. Most journal articles will not be, so you should use IFind (Articles & more) to check if we have access to any articles you find.
IBSS This link opens in a new windowInternational Bibliography of Social Sciences (IBSS) includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR contains the full text of journals, usually from their beginning up to about 5 years ago. For more recent years, links to the full text of articles on external sites is often given. Subjects covered include ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language and literature, mathematics and statistics, philosophy, sociology, anthropology, politics and population studies.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowPsycARTICLES is a database from the American Psychological Society giving full text access to over 100 journals in behavioural science and related fields.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowPsycINFO provides coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields, containing nearly 4 million citations from 2500 journal titles. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.
Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources in the fields of Medicine, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences and Life Sciences. The database also provides information on citation analysis for specific articles, authors, and journal metrics.
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA scientific citation indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialised sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.
Wales Journal of Education
Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) - a huge library of over 2 million TV and radio programmes and feature films that have been broadcast by BBC, ITV, Ch4, Ch5 and over 70 other channels. Create playlists to watch later or edit clips and embed in your presentations.
Download the browser extension to easily access full-text journal articles within our subscriptions when you are browsing the web and databases such as Scopus and PubMed.