Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the School of Education library subject guide
This guide is for students in the School of Education, including Early Childhood Studies programmes. It has links to subject specialist books, journals and databases. There are guides and contact information if you need help.
LibraryPlus - That extra support for your studies
We offer a number of specially designed services, known as LibraryPlus, aimed at making your student life easier.
Who can use LibraryPlus? All students, with particular emphasis on:
- Part time students
- Students living at a distance
- Work based learners
- Students who are often on placements (e.g. Health Science students)
- Disabled students
Go to the LibraryPlus webpage for more information
Swansea University is a member of the SCONUL Access scheme. This allows academic staff, postgraduate research students, full-time postgraduates, part-time, distance learning or placement students to borrow from other HE libraries across the UK who are members of the scheme.
Please check the library web site for the latest news about our opening hours and facilities.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new windowProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowEducation Research Complete covers a range of subjects and all levels of education from early years to higher education. Content includes academic journals, teaching magazines and conference papers.
Science Direct This link opens in a new windowJournal articles from the publisher Elsevier. Science Direct includes articles on social science so it's an excellent resource for education.
ASSIA This link opens in a new window Mae'r gronfa ddata hon yn darparu manylion llyfryddiaethol (gan gynnwys crynodebau) ar gyfer erthyglau mewn cyfnodolion, ar amrywiaeth mawr o bynciau, gan gynnwys Iechyd, Gwasanaethau Cymdeithasol, Seicoleg, Cymdeithaseg, Economeg, Gwleidyddiaeth, Cysylltiadau Hiliol, Gwaith Cymdeithasol ac Addysg. Mae'n cynnwys cofnodion mwy na 500 o deitlau cyfnodolion a gyhoeddir mewn 16 gwlad wahanol, gan gynnwys y DU a'r UD.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains over 375,000 records from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
Bookmark these useful webpages
iFind This link opens in a new window
iFind, the Library catalogue is the main way to search resources provided by Swansea University Library.
New students! Before you can access any Swansea University IT services and systems, you must:
- Log in
- Change your password
- Set up Self Service Password Reset and Multi-Factor authentication
APA Referencing Guides
We are currently supporting two versions of APA – APA 6th and APA 7th. Please check your module handbook or ask your lecturer to find out which version you should use.
You can find more information and help with Academic Integrity and Academic Misconduct on My Uni.
Library Skills Classes
See the full programme here.
Online Library Skills Classes - recordings
Glossary of library terms