Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use journal articles
You may think you can get all the information you need from textbooks and websites, but it's a good idea to include journal articles in your research too.
Journals are made up of collections of articles and publishes regularly on a continuing basis (usually weekly, monthly, quarterly or annually). A journal normally focuses on a specific topic. Journals provide information that is:
- Timely – journals are published more often than books, as a result you will find up-to-date information in recent journals
- Concise – articles in journals are shorter to read than books
- Authoritative – articles are written by experts (either academics or professionals). Peer reviewed journals contain articles which have been examined and reviewed by the editorial board of the journal to ensure the research is sound, accurate and robust before the article is published.
Journals at Swansea University normally cover academic topics and we pay for you to have access to 1000s of journal titles across all subject areas.
Where to find journal articles
iFind is a good place to start your search for journal articles.
The best places to search for academic journal articles on your subject are our subject specialist databases listed here.
Business Source Complete Business Source Complete yw cronfa ddata fusnes ysgolheigaidd ddiffiniol y byd. Mae’n darparu y prif gasgliad o gynnwys llyfryddiaethol a thestun llawn. Fel rhan o’r sylw cynhwysfawr a gynigir gan y gronfa ddata hon, ceir mynegai a chrynodebau ar gyfer y cyfnodolion busnes ysgolheigaidd pwysicaf sy’n dyddio yn ôl i 1886. At hyn, darperir cyfeirnodau chwilio a nodwyd ar gyfer dros 1,300 o gyfnodolion.
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Proquest Business Collection Mae’r ProQuest Business Collection yn rhoi mynediad i chwe cronfa ddata fusnes allweddol: ABI Inform Complete, Cyfrifyddu a Threth, Ffynhonnell Gwybodaeth Bancio, Llyfryddiaeth Ryngwladol Gwyddorau Cymdeithasol (IBSS), Accounting and Tax, Banking Information Source, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), ProQuest Asian Business and Reference, a ProQuest Entrepreneurship.
The ProQuest Business Collection provides access to six key business databases: ABI Inform Complete, Accounting and Tax, Banking Information Source, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), ProQuest Asian Business and Reference, and ProQuest Entrepreneurship.
You may also find business, management, accounting or finance journals in numerous other databases. A full list of the databases that the library subscribes to can be found here.
Finding Journal Articles
Finding Journal Articles Short Course
This short course provides an introduction to finding journal articles. Click the link below to launch the course.
Finding journal articles (Advanced search strategies)
Finding Journal Articles (Advanced Search Strategies)
The following short course provides guidance on advance search strategies for finding journal articles. It should only take 5-10 minutes to complete. Click the link below to launch the course.