Data and reports on consumers, industries and companies
MarketLine Advantage
This link opens in a new windowContains 1000’s of reports such as company profiles (including SWOT analyses), industry profiles, country profiles (including PESTLE analyses), case studies, news and financial deals.
If you are accessing MarketLine off campus, you will need to click 'Shibboleth' on the sign in page and then select Swansea University as your institution.
Mintel Reports
This link opens in a new windowContains market research reports on food, drink, leisure, technology, e-commerce, travel and sustainability. There are also reports on trends, brands, lifestyle (UK) and attitudes & trends (China).
If you are accessing Mintel off campus, you will need to click 'Federated login' on the sign in page and then select Swansea University as your institution.
Statista
This link opens in a new windowWith a global focus Statista provides the latest and most relevant facts and data on markets, consumers and industries. It covers 1.9m statistics, forecasts and studies on 80,000 topics and 170 industries worldwide. Data can be easily downloaded to most commonly used formats.
Bloomberg
This link opens in a new windowBloomberg provides real-time access to financial news and market data, including stocks, currencies, commodities, futures, rate & bonds, sectors and energy access to every article on a desktop or via the app. As well as:Bloomberg TV, a 24 hour financial TV network, live and on demand with original series, radio, podcasts and live events. Bloomberg live Q&A with journalists and games. Explainers, which is a section clarifying complex topics to help users understand the fundamentals behind global markets and financial concepts. Businessweek, which includes digital versions of the magazineWatchlist, where users can create a personalised watchlist with optional alerts for their chosen market indicators and companies.
Start the login by entering your university e-mail address. You will need to create a personal account.
Nomis
Nomis is a service provided by the ONS, giving free access to the most detailed and up-to-date UK labour market statistics from official sources.
Office for National Statistics
ONS is the official UK statistics site for health, education, social issues, economics, commerce and labour and all government policy areas, including Census 2021.
StatsWales
StatsWales is a free-to-use service that allows visitors to view, manipulate, create and download tables from the most detailed official data on Wales.
Welsh Index of Multiple Deprivation (WIMD)
WIMD is the Welsh Government’s official measure of relative deprivation for small areas in Wales. It is designed to identify those small areas where there are the highest concentrations of several different types of deprivation.
Carmarthenshire Wards & County Profile
Carmarthenshire County Council no longer provides ward profiles on their website. Use the NOMIS website and search using your postcode.
Ceredigion Ward Profiles
Ceredigion County Council does not at present provide ward profiles on their website. Use the NOMIS website and search using your postcode.
Neath Port Talbot Ward Profiles
Neath Port Talbot County Council does not at present provide ward profiles on their website. Use the NOMIS website and search using your postcode.
Pembrokeshire Ward Profiles
Pembrokeshire County Council does not at present provide ward profiles on their website. Use the NOMIS website and search using your postcode.
Powys Ward Profiles
Powys County Council no longer provides ward profiles on their website. However they do have a well-being information bank, containing interactive data on topics including Demographics, Environment, Economy, Culture and Community and Social.
Swansea Ward Profiles
The Ward Profiles bring together a range of key statistical and other information about each ward or electoral division in Swansea.
Data Cymru - Ward Profile
This "beta" release Ward Profile dashboard allows you to find information about your ward from the 2021 Census.
ONS - Ward Profile
Get data by different area types, for example your neighbourhood, ward or parish by using this tool to build a custom area profile.
Police.uk
This is a website for England and Wales which you can use to find out more about crime in your neighbourhood.
South Wales Police
You can find local police contacts for your ward and what the policing priorities are in this area.
Health and Social Care - Wales
Contains a comprehensive set of information on health, health services and social services in Wales. They cover a wide range of topics including NHS primary and community activity, waiting times and NHS staff.
Public Health Wales Observatory
The Public Health Wales Observatory provides information and data to decision makers and the public on health issues. Working with local and national partners to improve health and health services, and to reduce health inequalities.
Quality and Outcomes framework
An annual report includes information on the performance of contractors and recognition of good practice.
European Sources Online
European Sources Online (ESO) is an online database which provides access to information on the institutions and activities of the European Union, the countries, regions and other international organisations of Europe, and on the issues of importance to European citizens and stakeholders. ESO provides access to thousands of expertly selected websites, documents and publications from the EU and other international organisations, national governments, think tanks, stakeholder organisations, working papers etc., full text articles from Financial Times and European Voice, plus bibliographic records to key academic textbooks and periodical articles, and a series of Information Guides compiled by the ESO Editorial Team. Updated daily.
EuroStat
The Statistical Office of the European Communities in Luxembourg is known as Eurostat. Eurostat does not collect data itself, but gathers data from the official statistical agencies in member countries. It then has to ensure that the data is harmonized so that meaningful comparisons can be made across several countries.
Health and Care Research Wales
Health and Care Research Wales is a national, multi-faceted, virtual organisation funded and overseen by the Welsh Government’s Division for Social Care and Health Research. It provides an infrastructure to support and increase capacity in research and development (R&D), runs a range of responsive funding schemes and manages the NHS R&D funding allocation.
UK Data Service
The UK Data Service is a comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC and provides a single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data from 1971 to 2011.
FAME
This link opens in a new windowFAME is a database that contains information for companies in the UK and Ireland. FAME contains information on 2.8 million companies, 1.9 million of which are in a detailed format. For the top 1.9 million companies the reports typically include: contact information including phone, e-mail and web addresses plus main and other trading addresses, activity details, 29 profit and loss account and 63 balance sheet items, cash flow and ratios, credit score and rating, security and price information (listed companies only), names of bankers, auditors, previous auditors and advisors, details of holdings and subsidiaries (including foreign holdings and subsidiaries), names of current and previous directors with home addresses and shareholder indicator, heads of department, shareholders, news plus access to the scanned image of the latest annual returns and reports.
LSEG Workspace (Refinitiv/Eikon/Datastream)
This link opens in a new windowContent and features- Financial modelling- Datastream macroeconomic analysis- Private company profiles- Emerging markets coverage- Reuters news and analytics- Fundamentals
The LSEG Workspace (Refinitiv/Eikon/Datastream) has restricted access. If you need to use this resource please use the self registration process. Please remember to use your University email address.
Nexis
This link opens in a new windowAccess to hundreds of newspapers and other news sources from many countries around the world, including the UK, France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the USA. Nexis contains the text of many newspaper articles from the early 1990s onwards. Some newspapers are available full text from the 1970s and 1980s.
To search Newspapers, click on News on the toolbar at the top. Or you can click on “All Content Types” and then select News before searching.
Bloomberg
This link opens in a new windowBloomberg provides real-time access to financial news and market data, including stocks, currencies, commodities, futures, rate & bonds, sectors and energy access to every article on a desktop or via the app. As well as:Bloomberg TV, a 24 hour financial TV network, live and on demand with original series, radio, podcasts and live events. Bloomberg live Q&A with journalists and games. Explainers, which is a section clarifying complex topics to help users understand the fundamentals behind global markets and financial concepts. Businessweek, which includes digital versions of the magazineWatchlist, where users can create a personalised watchlist with optional alerts for their chosen market indicators and companies.
Start the login by entering your university e-mail address. You will need to create a personal account.
LSEG Workspace (Refinitiv/Eikon/Datastream)
This link opens in a new windowContent and features- Financial modelling- Datastream macroeconomic analysis- Private company profiles- Emerging markets coverage- Reuters news and analytics- Fundamentals
The LSEG Workspace (Refinitiv/Eikon/Datastream) has restricted access. If you need to use this resource please use the self registration process. Please remember to use your University email address.
Bloomberg
This link opens in a new windowBloomberg provides real-time access to financial news and market data, including stocks, currencies, commodities, futures, rate & bonds, sectors and energy access to every article on a desktop or via the app. As well as:Bloomberg TV, a 24 hour financial TV network, live and on demand with original series, radio, podcasts and live events. Bloomberg live Q&A with journalists and games. Explainers, which is a section clarifying complex topics to help users understand the fundamentals behind global markets and financial concepts. Businessweek, which includes digital versions of the magazineWatchlist, where users can create a personalised watchlist with optional alerts for their chosen market indicators and companies.
Start the login by entering your university e-mail address. You will need to create a personal account.
Financial data for banks and other financial institutions
S&P Capital IQ (Pro)This link opens in a new windowS&P Capital IQ (Pro) provides access to current and historical financial data and news for over 50,000 banks globally.Why use S&P Capital IQ (Pro) S&P Capital IQ (Pro) provides financial data for over 50,000 banks and financial institutionsGlobal coverageCreate alertsNews and reports about relevant companies and marketsIn-built analysis tools
You can use S&P Capital IQ (Pro) to download data via Excel. To do this you need to use the University Remote PC access service. When logged into the remote PC go to the Unified Desktop, then School of Management, Specialist Apps and click on the icon named 'SNL-Excel Plugin'.
