Academic Staff Support Guide

Information and digital literacy teaching portfolio.  

Explore how your dedicated librarians can contribute to your students’ success by embedding essential academic and information literacy skills into educational programmes. Additionally, librarians provide students with a wealth of available tutorials, videos, and support guides which you can signpost students to during supervision.  

iFindReading

Swansea University Libraries uses iFind Reading as its software to create and maintain all reading lists. The iFind Reading Lists are accessible in the University VLE (Canvas) and can be viewed by students as they join the course. In this session you will learn about:   

• How to create and maintain your reading list   
• Good practice to encourage student engagement   
• How the library can use reading lists to identify resources required for the library collection.   
• How to use the "Digitisation request" option to request digitisation of book chapters, extracts, and journal articles when these are not available electronically.   

South Wales Miners’ Library: A Collections Showcase

The South Wales Miners' Library holds a range of collections relevant to the social and cultural histories of industrial South Wales. These collections include books, pamphlets, oral histories, posters, banners and maps among others. Key topics include industrial struggle in Wales, Welsh involvement in the Spanish Civil War and the nationalisation of coal. We also hold the personal collections of a number of South Wales figures. 

Exploring AI-Powered Tools for Smarter Literature Searches 

Discover how AI can transform your research process! We'll look at cutting-edge AI tools designed to enhance literature searches -especially those integrated into library databases.

Discover ways to help you find relevant, high-quality sources faster and more efficiently. 

Open Publishing Pathways 2025

Swansea University Libraries supports staff and postgraduate researchers to make research outputs open access in accordance with the wider Open Research agenda. 

Our short update will highlight: 

• Open Access models (gold/green/hybrid/diamond etc.) 
• Your Open Access publication options and the intersection with funder, institutional and REF requirements 
• Swansea University publisher agreements 
• The tools to help you navigate your publishing choices  

(SciFree, JISC Open Policy Finder, Effective Research Publishing Handbook etc.) 

Introduction to Digital Humanities and Research Data Team Support and Training

Connecting you to content

What is the Library Digitisation Service? How to make the most of our resources for your teaching by supporting your students’ online access to high demand course reading via Canvas whenever possible. 

How to utilise Document Supply in your own research and assist students to reach beyond our collection for their studies. How to order material for teaching and ensure it is available in time for your classes.