Skip to main content

Endnote: Desktop EndNote

Help using EndNote to manage your references

EndNote desktop

The desktop version of EndNote has some advanced features, including storing, indexing and importing PDFs so that you can use it to organise your collection of documents.This section contains information on importing references into EndNote, working with styles and PDFs.

Importing references into EndNote

There are two main methods to get references into EndNote without typing them in. You can either connect to a database within EndNote or you can import references directly from a database. Choose from the list below to find details of the method you will need to use for many of the databases subscribed to at Swansea University.

You will always need to check your imported records to make sure EndNote has captured everything correctly.

EndNote styles

Endnote styles control how your references look in Word. A large number are available for EndNote, many of them for specific journals. They can use author date, numbered or footnote formatting. To preview a style: 

  1. choose Output styles from the Edit menu
  2. select Open Style Manager.
  3. Select Style preview to see how references would appear in the selected style

 Additional styles are available from the EndNote download site. If you find one you want to use simply download and open it then use Save As to save it into your own copy of EndNote.

Editing Styles

It is possible to edit EndNote styles if there isn't one which meets your needs. The link below goes to a full guide on how to do this. Note that it is easier to find a style which is nearly right then just alter some formatting or add a field than to write a style from scratch.

You can view and edit styles by going to Edit - Output Styles - Open style manager.

Footnote styles

Creating footnotes:

  1. Footnotes have to be created in Word (References tab then Insert footnote button in Word 2007 / 2010). Only certain EndNote styles will allow the creation of footnotes.
  2. Put your cursor in the footnote area created by Word and insert a reference as usual using Tools - EndNote - Insert Selected Citation (or Find Citation).
  3. EndNote will then format the citation in an appropriate footnote style.

The formatting of numbers in your text is created by Word, not EndNote. If you want a number to appear as superscript select it, then choose Font from the Format menu. Click the box next to Superscript

EndNote styles which allow footnotes

Author-Date, American Historical Review, Biography, Chicago 14th A, Chicago Review, CLA Journal, Criticism, Eighteenth Century Studies, Early American Literature, English Literary History, Explicator, Genre, Journal of American History, Journal of Modern Literature, Kenyon Review, MHRA, Mississippi Quarterly, MLA, Modern Fiction Studies, Modern Philology, Mosaic, Nineteenth Century Literature, Novel, Old English Newsletter, PMLA, Restoration Studies, Studies Novel, Studies Short Fiction, Turabian Bibliography.

Most of the above styles will use "ibid." if a citation is repeated. Early American Literature, MHRA, Modern Fiction Studies and Restoration 18th Century Theatre will insert a short title instead.

Swansea EndNote styles

The university has adopted 4 main styles for undergraduates - APA (an author date or Harvard type style), MHRA (a footnote style for humanities), Vancouver (a numbered style) and Oscola (a legal style). Some departments may also recommend these for postgraduates. The Oscola file can be downloaded from Oxford Law faculty. but due to the nature of legal citation can be more difficult to use with EndNote than other styles.

To use the Swansea files download and open them then use Save As to save them into your own copy of EndNote.

Working with PDFs

EndNote works with PDFs in a number of ways:

  • Attach a PDF by selecting File attachments - Select File then navigating to that file. Alternatively you can drag and drop a PDF into EndNote.
  • Search the internet for full text PDFs of the references in your library. It will mainly only find free ones so will not capture everything but this can be a time saver. Highlight the references then click References - Find full text - Find full text. The search will take a bit of time so be patient.
    • You may capture a few more PDFs if you go to Edit - Preferences - Find full text and enter the following settings- Open URL path http://eu.alma.exlibrisgroup.com/view/uresolver/44WHELF_SWA/openurl
    • Authenticate with https://iss-openathensla-runtime.swan.ac.uk/oala/login/ldapauthentication. This allows you to authenticate using your university username and password.
  • Import a folder of PDFs - EndNote will try to import them and create references from them. It won't succeed in every case as the file needs to have a DOI. Go to File - Import - Folder to have a go.
  • View and annotate PDFs

This appears at the right of the screen. The highlighted icon allows you to enlarge the PDF and will reveal tools for highlighting and annotating.

EndNote PDF viewer with enlarge screen icon highlighted.

Syncing the two versions

It is possible to use both versions and sync them together. 

  • Set up an online account
  • In the desktop version Go to Edit then Preferences.
  • Select the sync option and enter your online username and password.
  • Click the Enable sync button to activate your account

‚ÄčIf you already have references in one of your libraries it would be helpful to watch the tutorial video below first to make sure you don't get conflicts.