Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OSCOLA referencing guide (Online): Statutes

Mae'r dudalen hon hefyd ar gael yn Gymraeg

UK Statutes

To create a footnote reference to a UK Statute, you should use the short title. You leave out 'the' from the start of the name and only capitalise major words. 

Format: Short Title | Year

Example: Act of Supremacy 1558

Statutes follow the same format in the bibliography as in the footnote.

Format: Short Title | Year

Example: Shipping and Trading Interests (Protection) Act 1995

To refer to a specific part of the act see the next page in the guide. If you are referring to the same Act several times, you can use an abbreviation if you tell the reader what abbreviation you will be using when you first refer to the statute. So Human Rights Act 1998 (afterwards HRA 1998). 

If all the required information to create a footnote is included when referring to a Statute in the text, a footnote is not required. 

There is no difference in format between the footnote reference and the bibliography for this type of reference. The bibliography entry should refer only to the whole Statute, rather than specific elements.

Welsh Acts (Post 2011)

National Assembly of Wales Acts are cited by short title and year followed by the Act of the National Assembly of Wales number (anaw if citing in English or dccc if citing in Welsh). To cite a particular part of the Statute use s or ss (section or sections), Pt (Part) or Sch and para (Schedule and paragraph).

Format:  Title Year (anaw or dccc)

Examples:Human Transplantation (Wales) Act 2013 (anaw 5)

Deddf Trawsblannu Dynol (Cymru) 2013 (dccc 5)

If all the required information to create a footnote is included when referring to a Statute in the text, a footnote is not required.

There is no difference in format between the footnote reference and the bibliography for this type of reference. The bibliography entry should refer only to the whole Statute, rather than specific elements.

Welsh Measures (Pre 2011)

Welsh measures were the primary legislation of the Welsh Assembly, prior to the 2011 Amendment to the Government of Wales Act 2006. They are cited by short title and year, followed by the National Assembly of Wales Measure (nawm if citing in English or mccc if citing in Welsh.>) number in brackets. To cite specific sections, schedules etc, follow the guidance for parts of Statutes.

Format : Title Year (nawm or mccc number)

Examples : Learner Travel (Wales) Measure 2008 (nawm 2)

Mesur Teithio gan Ddysgwyr (Cymru) 2008 (mccc 2) 

If all the required information to create a footnote is included when referring to a Statute in the text, a footnote is not required.

There is no difference in format between the footnote reference and the bibliography for this type of reference. The bibliography entry should refer only to the whole Statute, rather than specific elements.

 Like UK Parliament statutes, Acts of the Scottish Parliament are cited by short title, leaving out 'the'. and year. Each Act is also given an ‘asp’ number, consisting of a lower-case abbreviation of the words ‘Act of the Scottish Parliament’ and a running number in the year (eg ‘asp 13’). The asp number should be given after the year, in brackets.

Format: Short Title Date (asp number)

Example: Crofting Reform etc Act 2007 (asp 7)

To cite a particular part of the Statute use s or ss (section or sections), Pt (Part) or Sch and para (Schedule and paragraph).

If all the required information to create a footnote is included when referring to a Statute in the text, a footnote is not required.

There is no difference in format between the footnote reference and the bibliography for this type of reference. The bibliography entry should refer only to the whole Statute, rather than specific elements.

Statutes of the Northern Ireland Assembly (post 1998)

For Acts of the current Northern Ireland Assembly, which was established in 1998, put ‘Northern Ireland’ in brackets between the short title and the year.

Format: Short Title (Northern Ireland) | year.

Example: Employment Act (Northern Ireland) 2010.

To cite a particular part of the Statute use s or ss (section or sections), Pt (Part) or Sch and para (Schedule and paragraph).

If all the required information to create a footnote is included when referring to a Statute in the text, a footnote is not required.

There is no difference in format between the footnote reference and the bibliography for this type of reference. The bibliography entry should refer only to the whole Statute, rather than specific elements.

Statutes of the Parliament of Northern Ireland (pre 1998)

For Acts of the former Parliament of  Northern Ireland, put ‘NI’ in brackets between the short title and the year.

Format: Name of the Act (NI) | year.

Example: Charities Act (NI) 1964.

To cite a particular part of the Statute use s or ss (section or sections), Pt (Part) or Sch and para (Schedule and paragraph).

If all the required information to create a footnote is included when referring to a Statute in the text, a footnote is not required.

There is no difference in format between the footnote reference and the bibliography for this type of reference. The bibliography entry should refer only to the whole Statute, rather than specific elements.