LibGuides: Geography: Journals & Databases

Key resources

IBSS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Social Sciences (IBSS) includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Journal articles from the publisher Elsevier. Advanced search gives you the option to choose subscribed journals so that you only find results available to you immediately - useful for getting started on a topic
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources in the fields of Medicine, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences and Life Sciences. The database also provides information on citation analysis for specific articles, authors, and journal metrics.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A scientific citation indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialised sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.
Scifinder-n This link opens in a new window
Scifinder is produced by the American Chemical Society and is the most comprehensive source for chemistry and related subjects. It indexes over 10,000 journals and can be searched by structure diagram and formula as well as keyword. You will need to register using the link in iFind before you can use SciFinder for the first time.
Remember to register using the link in iFind the first time you use SciFinder.
ASSIA This link opens in a new window
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains over 375,000 records from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

How do I find articles in science subjects?

MyUni Library Essentials - Researching

Google Scholar and Semantic Scholar

Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials. It is unclear what is indexed and how, so Google Scholar should be used in conjunction with other academic databases for more reliable results. It is important to note that Google Scholar links to some subscribed content. You can enable this feature on your device by going to the Google Menu, Settings, Library links and then selecting Swansea University from the access links for list.

Semantic Scholar is an artificial-intelligence backed search engine for academic publications including peer-reviewed research. It is useful to use alongside Google Scholar as it uses AI to extract meaning from research literature. To get started, visit semanticscholar.org and search for a paper, author, topic, or keyword. You can filter by field, date range, conference, and more to refine the search results as well as sort by relevance or recency.

Semantic Scholar Semantic Scholar is an artificial-intelligence backed search engine for academic publications including peer-reviewed research. It is useful to use alongside Google Scholar as the results can as it uses AI to extract meaning from research literature differ. To get started, visit semanticscholar.org and search for a paper, author, topic, or keyword. You can filter by field, date range, conference, and more to refine the search results as well as sort by relevance or recency. Mae Semantic Scholar yn ddeallusrwydd artiffisial wedi’i seilio ar beiriant chwilio ar gyfer cyhoeddiadau academaidd, gan gynnwys ymchwil a adolygwyd gan gymheiriaid. Mae’n ddefnyddiol i’w ddefnyddio ochr yn ochr â Google Scholar oherwydd bod y canlyniadau mae’n gallu eu cael yn defnyddio deallusrwydd artiffisial i echdynnu ystyr o lenyddiaeth ymchwil yn amrywio. I ddechrau, ewch i semanticscholar.org a chwilio am bapur, awdur, pwnc neu air allweddol. Gallwch hidlo yn ôl maes, ystod o ddyddiadau, cynhadledd a mwy i fireinio’r canlyniadau chwilio yn ogystal â’u trefnu yn ôl perthnasedd neu ddiweddaredd.
Advanced Google Search

Search for Open Access Content

Open Access Search

Skip the paywall and search CORE for free, legal, full-text articles.

Search CORE

Troubleshooting online journals

Nearly all our electronic resources can be accessed off campus using your university username and password. However, it can sometimes be more difficult to find the correct route to login. The easiest solution is to look up the journal or database in iFind and follow the link there. This guide has screenshots showing how some of the major systems look off campus.

Accessing science journals off campus

Explore our journals with BrowZine

BrowZine at Swansea University

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad
Download the browser extension to easily access full-text journal articles within our subscriptions when you are browsing the web and databases such as Scopus and PubMed.

Cannot find what you need?

Document Supply
If the resource you need for your research is not held in the Library, use the Document Supply Service to request an interlibrary loan. Please check the library catalogue iFind before requesting an interlibrary loan.

Geography: Journals & Databases

Overview