Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your reading lists
You can view all of your reading lists in iFind Reading. Reading lists can also be viewed via modules in Canvas.
Most of our e-books can be found via iFind. Our e-books are available via three main websites: dawsonera, EBSCO and Proquest. These tabs will tell you a little bit more about the three main databases. To login, use your 6 digit student number as the username and your usual password. If you need any help accessing and using ebooks, email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
EBSCO eBook Collection
EBSCO’s extensive collection of eBook titles on EBSCOhost allows for a comprehensive and powerful search experience—with every search, relevant eBook titles will appear directly alongside your other EBSCO databases, exposing users to the full depth of your library’s offerings and increasing usage and visibility of your library’s entire collection.
Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics
Ideal for students, teachers, researchers, and practitioners in the interdisciplinary field of applied linguistics, the encyclopedia covers 27 key areas of the field, including Language Learning and Teaching, Bilingual and Multilingual Education, Assessment and Testing, Corpus Linguistics, Conversation Analysis, Discourse, Cognitive Second Language Acquisition, Language Policy and Planning, Literacy, and Technology and Language.
Proquest Ebook Central
Proquest Ebook Central offers authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subject areas, along with powerful tools to help you find, use, and manage the information you need.
The TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching
The TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching explores the theoretical and practical aspects of English language instruction. It offers access to over 750 entries written by leading practitioners and scholars from around the globe and covers the following areas: Approaches & Methods in English for Speakers of Other Languages; Assessment and Evaluation; Non-Native English-speaking Teachers (NNESTs); Organizational & Administrative Issues; Sociocultural Aspects of English Language Teaching; Teacher Training & Professional Development; Teaching & Technology; Teaching English as an International Language; Teaching Grammar; Teaching Listening; Teaching Reading; Teaching Speaking & Pronunciation; Teaching Vocabulary; Teaching Writing.
Routledge Handbooks Online: Linguistics
Routledge Handbooks Online provides an overview of classic and current research and future trends in the Social Sciences and Humanities which providing an authoritative guide to theory and method, the key sub-disciplines, and the primary debates of today. The database covers over 23,000 chapters from 850 volumes, with expansive coverage of 27 subject areas including Business & Economics, Media & Culture, Criminal Justice & Criminology and Health & Social Care.
When searching iFind for a specific book we recommend using the author's surname and one or two key words from the title
Finding Books & Journals in the library
Most of the books used for the study of English Language and Applied Linguistics are located on Level 1 West of the Library and Information Centre (LIC). The main classmark ranges for these books are P and PE.
- P Linguistics Level 1 West
- PE English Language Level 1 West
Most English Language and Linguistics journals (in print form) can be found in the ranges P and PE on Level 1 West.
To find where the book you need is located, use iFind, our library catalogue. You can find a widget to search iFind on this page. There is also a guide to iFind at the bottom of this section and video guides on the 'Getting Started' page. We have also attached a guide on navigating the library to find your books.
If you would like to suggest a book that we could add to library stock, you can email us at email@example.com