Academic journal articles are an excellent source of scholarly information on your topic. Here are a few tips for finding journal articles:-
You can use iFind to locate journal articles on a topic or by a particular author, if you want to carry out a more thorough search it is better to use electronic databases. Some of these databases (e.g. JSTOR) contain full-text articles, while others (e.g Web of Science) contain only a citation (or record) and abstract (a summary) of the article. In this case, you will often see a 'iGetIt@Swansea University' link which you can click on to see if we hold the article here.
Getting more results
Getting fewer results
Critically appraising your sources is a crucial element of any literature search. You need to consider is your sources are:
Ask yourself the following questions about the information you have found.
What sort of information?
This is a list of databases that may be relevant to Welsh students. Please explore this a-z or look at the following pages for more guidance to the databases. If you click 'view more results' you can explore all our databases, access database descriptions, and filter by database type.
Google can be a useful tool for finding information online. However, it can be difficult to find the most relevant and reliable sources of information from a list of thousands or millions of results. Don't assume the results at the top are the best ones! The following strategies will help you search Google more effectively.
Use your keywords and the command site:url to find results from one website or from a group of websites. For instance, a search for foundation phase site:gov.wales will find information about the Foundation Phase from the Welsh Government website. You could use site:ac.uk to search academic websites.
Use the command filetype: to limit your search to a particular type of document. This can be useful if you are looking for a certain type of information. For example, if you government documents are likely to be published in PDF form, so you could use filetype:pdf to limit your results to PDFs and make it easier to find what you need. Numerical data is likely to appear in a spreadsheet, so you could use filetype:xls to look for Excel documents.
Google Scholar searches scholarly literature such as journal articles and abstracts, but you may have difficulty accessing the full-text of the material you find. Linking your Google Scholar account to Swansea University will help with this. Just go to the settings cog from the menu
and then go to Library Links to find Swansea University.
Although Google Scholar can be useful, iFind and subject databases such as Science Direct have certain key advantages:-
Most print journals about Welsh literature or language are at call numbers beginning PR on Level 1 West. Use the library catalogue iFind to find out the call number of a journal.
If you need any help, you can email your Librarians - email@example.com