Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using the library catalogue to find books.
You can search iFind, the library catalogue for print books and ebooks, as well as many other resources. When you are searching for a specific book, we recommend using the author's surname and one or two key words from the title to search. You can then filter by 'Full text online' to find an ebook.
There is also a guide to iFind below this text. There is also a guide to finding your books on the library shelves.
Book Locations in Singleton
Most of the books used for the study of Welsh language and literature are located on Level 1 West of the Singleton Library. Their call numbers begin PB. Most other books about Wales are also on Level 1 in the same area of the library. These have call numbers beginning W/ Many books about Welsh history have call numbers beginning W/DA. Some books about Welsh writers in English (e.g. Dylan Thomas) are on Level 1 at call numbers beginning PR, the main area of the library for English literature.
The book I want has been borrowed
Requesting a book
Books at Swansea University are automatically renewed unless they are requested by another user. If the book you want is on loan it's is very important that you log into iFind and request the book. Remember to check your email regularly in case books you borrow have been requested.
Most of our e-books can be found via iFind. Our e-books are available via: Proquest and EBSCO. These tabs will tell you a little bit more about the three main databases. To login, use your 6 digit student number as the username and your usual password. If you need any help accessing and using ebooks, email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO’s extensive collection of eBook titles on EBSCOhost allows for a comprehensive and powerful search experience—with every search, relevant eBook titles will appear directly alongside your other EBSCO databases, exposing users to the full depth of your library’s offerings and increasing usage and visibility of your library’s entire collection.
Proquest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Proquest Ebook Central contains over 80,000 titles covering a wide range of subjects – access the site directly to search across the full text of the collection and build your own online bookshelf for easy access to your favourite titles.
Oxford Scholarship: Literature This link opens in a new window
We have access to 70 ebooks in the Oxford Scholarship Online Literature Collection from the 2015-6 collection. You can select Unlocked in the Narrow Your Choices section to bring them up.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains the full text of journals, usually from their beginning up to about 5 years ago. For more recent years, links to the full text of articles on external sites is often given. Subjects covered include ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language and literature, mathematics and statistics, philosophy, sociology, anthropology, politics and population studies.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Online (LION) is one of the most valuable Web sites for English and American literature. It contains the text of over 350,000 works of literature, including most English poetry and drama written before 1900, an increasing number of twentieth-century English poems, many English works of fiction written before 1900 and much American poetry and drama from 1600 to the present. The Search Criticism and Reference section allows users to search ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) from its beginning in 1920 until the present and to search and view the full text of articles within over a hundred journals written in recent years. It is also possible to search major reference works and Web sites.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Literature One is a new database replacing Literature Online. It contains all of Literature Online’s content and adds even more content, including a wider and more diverse focus. It has much more criticism and you can keep all your saves from your Literature Online account seamlessly.