Library News. Newyddion y Llyfrgell - LibGuides at Swansea University

Welcome to Day 5 of 5 Days of Library! Today we’re going to let you know about the support available to you from the library, including the staff who are here to help.

Friendly staff

Libraries and Collections staff are the first point of contact for all your library enquiries. You’ll find them at the Information Desk during staffed hours or you can contact the library by phone, email or chat. Let us know if you have any comments or questions!

Self-service

We’ve tried to ensure our services are set up so you can use the library independently and flexibly. We’ve given you a taste of what we offer this week. Here’s a selection of some of the resources and services you can access:

Searching iFind, the library catalogue

Searching the full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access

Self-Service request, collection and issuing of books and other physical library materials

Booking a library study space

Using the PC’s, printing and scanning services and self-service laptop lockers situated in library buildings.

Library guides to support you to use the library and access subject specific resources

Please let us know if you need any help using our self-service options. Make sure you get the most out of your library service by reading our guide to Getting Started with the Library.

Newyddion diweddaraf / Recent Posts

5 Days of Library, Day 5: Here to help - Library support to help you succeed

Welcome to Day 5 of 5 Days of Library! Today we’re going to let you know about the support available to you from the library, including the staff who are here to help. Friendly staff Libraries and Collections staff are the first point of contact for all your library enquiries. You’ll find them at the Information Desk during staffed hours or you can contact the library by phone, email or chat. Let us know if you have any comments or questions! Self-service We’ve tried to ensure our services are set up so you can use the library independently and flexibly. We’ve given you a taste of what we offer this week. Here’s a selection of some of the resources and services you can access: Searching iFind, the library catalogue Searching the full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access Self-Service request, collection and issuing of books and other physical library materials Booking a library study space Using the PC’s, printing and scanning services and self-service laptop lockers situated in library buildings. Library guides to support you to use the library and access subject specific resources Please let us know if you need any help using our self-service options. Make sure you get the most out of your library service by reading our guide to Getting Started with the Library. ...

5 niwrnod y llyfrgell, Diwrnod 5: Yma i Helpu - Cymorth Llyfrgell i'ch helpu chi i lwyddo

Croeso i Ddiwrnod 5 o 5 Niwrnod o'r Llyfrgell! Heddiw, rydyn ni'n mynd i roi gwybod i chi am y cymorth sydd ar gael i chi yn y llyfrgell, gan gynnwys y staff sydd yma i helpu. Staff cyfeillgar Staff Llyfrgelloedd a Chasgliadau yw'r pwynt cyswllt cyntaf ar gyfer eich holl ymholiadau ynglŷn â'r llyfrgell. Maen nhw ar gael wrth y Ddesg Wybodaeth yn ystod oriau staffio neu gallwch gysylltu â'r llyfrgell dros y ffôn, drwy e-bost neu sgwrs. Rhowch wybod i ni os oes gennych sylwadau neu gwestiynau! Gwasanaeth Hunanwasanaeth Rydym wedi ceisio sicrhau bod ein gwasanaethau wedi'u trefnu fel y gallwch ddefnyddio'r llyfrgell yn annibynnol ac yn hyblyg. Rydym wedi rhoi blas i chi o'r hyn rydym yn ei gynnig yr wythnos hon. Dyma ddetholiad o'r adnoddau a'r gwasanaethau sydd ar gael i chi: Chwilio iFind, catalog y llyfrgell Chwilio'r rhestr lawn o gronfeydd data mae'r llyfrgell yn tanysgrifio iddynt, gan gynnwys mynediad treial Cais hunanwasanaeth, casglu a dyrannu llyfrau a deunyddiau diriaethol eraill y llyfrgell Archebu lle astudio yn y llyfrgell Defnyddio'r cyfrifiaduron, gwasanaethau argraffu a sganio a loceri gliniaduron hunanwasanaeth yn adeiladau'r llyfrgell. Canllawiau’r Llyfrgell i'ch cefnogi chi i ddefnyddio'r llyfrgell a chael mynediad at adnoddau pwnc penodol Rhowch wybod i ni a oes angen cymorth arnoch i ddefnyddio ein hopsiynau hunanwasanaeth. Gwnewch yn siŵr eich bod yn manteisio i’r eithaf ar eich gwasanaeth llyfrgell drwy ddarllen ein canllaw, Dechrau Arni gyda’r Llyfrgell. ...

5 Days of Library, Day 4: And relax! Wellbeing at the library

We encourage you to work hard and do your best while you’re at university, but it’s also important to take time to relax and have fun. Our campuses have a range of Student Spaces for study and socialising. We focused on the study spaces in the libraries on Day 2; today we’ll look at how we can support your wellbeing. Better Read – reading for pleasure and wellbeing Reading for pleasure is a proven form of stress relief, so taking time to read something other than your course texts can be good for your wellbeing. The Better Read page has links to more information on the benefits of reading and suggestions of books you can borrow from the library. The Better Read page also has a link to the Wellbeing Collection. This is a collection of self-help books on a range of subjects such as stress management, sleep, eating disorders, the menopause and even some cookery books. The Wellbeing Collection is available to all students and staff. You can find the books in the Study Area on Level 1 West in Singleton Park Library and in the Wellbeing Corner near the group study pod in Bay Library. There are also e-books available for some titles. There’s good evidence that bibliotherapy – using books for self-help therapy – can be very effective, but please do reach out to the university’s Student Support Services if you’re struggling. Student kitchen Bay and Singleton Park libraries both have kitchen facilities for you to use. You can help yourself to hot water to make a cup of tea or maybe some noodles; there’s drinking water if you need to top up your bottle; and there are microwaves if you want to heat up some food (please don’t leave microwaves unattended or heat up anything metal!). We’re happy for you to eat cold food anywhere in the library, but if you’re eating a hot meal, please do this in the kitchen. Students in St David’s Park can find microwaves and boiling water in the common room so you can have something hot to eat and a cuppa too! Make sure you get the most out of your library service by reading our guide to Getting Started with the Library. ...

5 Niwrnod yn y Llyfrgell, Diwrnod 4: Ac ymlacia! Lles yn y Llyfrgell

Rydym yn dy annog i weithio'n galed a gwneud dy orau tra byddi di yn y brifysgol, ond mae hefyd yn bwysig cymryd amser i ymlacio a chael hwyl. Mae gan ein campysau amrywiaeth o fannau i fyfyrwyr astudio a chymdeithasu. Gwnaethon ni ganolbwyntio ar y mannau astudio yn y llyfrgelloedd ar Ddiwrnod 2; heddiw rydym yn edrych ar sut gallwn ni gefnogi dy les. Darllen yn Well – darllen er pleser a lles Mae wedi'i brofi bod darllen er pleser yn ffordd o leddfu straen, felly gall cymryd amser i ddarllen rhywbeth ar wahân i lyfrau testun eich cyrsiau fod yn dda i'ch lles. Mae gan y dudalen Darllen yn Well ddolenni i gael rhagor o wybodaeth am fanteision darllen ac awgrymiadau o lyfrau y gallwch chi eu benthyca o'r llyfrgell. Yn ogystal, mae gan y dudalen Darllen yn Well ddolen i'r Casgliad Lles. Dyma gasgliad o lyfrau hunangymorth ar amrywiaeth o bynciau megis rheoli straen, cysgu, anhwylderau bwyta, y menopos a hyd yn oed llyfrau coginio. Mae'r Casgliad Lles ar gael i bob myfyriwr ac aelod o staff. Gallwch ddod o hyd i'r llyfrau yn yr Ardal Astudio ar Lefel 1 - Gorllewin yn Llyfrgell Parc Singleton ac yn y Gornel Les gerllaw'r pod astudio grŵp yn Llyfrgell y Bae. Hefyd, mae fersiynau e-lyfr ar gael i rai ohonynt. Mae tystiolaeth dda y gall bibliotherapi – sef defnyddio llyfrau ar gyfer therapi hunangymorth – fod yn effeithiol iawn, ond cysylltwch â Gwasanaethau Cymorth Myfyrwyr y brifysgol os ydych chi'n ei chael hi'n anodd ymdopi. Cegin myfyrwyr Mae gan lyfrgelloedd Campws y Bae a Champws Parc Singleton gyfleusterau cegin i ti eu defnyddio. Gelli di helpu dy hun i ddŵr poeth i wneud paned neu nwdls; mae dŵr yfed os bydd angen i ti lenwi dy botel; ac mae microdonau os bydd awydd cynhesu bwyd arnat ti (paid â gadael microdonau pan fyddant ar waith a phaid â chynhesu metel!). Rydym yn hapus i ti fwyta bwyd oer unrhyw le yn y llyfrgell, ond, os wyt ti'n bwyta bwyd poeth, gofynnwn i ti wneud hyn yn y gegin. Gall myfyrwyr ym Mharc Dewi Sant ddefnyddio'r microdonau a’r dŵr berw yn yr ystafell gyffredin i chi gael rhywbeth poeth i fwyta a phaned hefyd! Gwnewch yn siŵr eich bod yn manteisio i’r eithaf ar eich gwasanaeth llyfrgell drwy ddarllen ein canllaw, Dechrau Arni gyda’r Llyfrgell. ...

5 Days of Library, Day 5: Here to help - Library support to help you succeed

Leave a comment