Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers available to you
Swansea University staff and students have free access to the newspaper archives below in addition to sites available anywhere on the Internet. There are links to all the newspaper resources we subscribe to (in addition to some free web resources) in iFind.
Finding newspapers in print or microfilm
To find out if we have individual newspapers available in print or in microfilm, go to iFind, click on Advanced Search and select the Title field. Then type in the title of the newspaper you are looking for.
The University is planning return to campuses and reopening of services with the health and safety of students and staff as its top priority. In accordance with guidance from Welsh Government and University Management, Library staff have been working closely with Health and Safety and Estates colleagues to plan a safe, phased return which enables social distancing of 2 metres, sanitiser points, and provision of services with minimal contact. Please consult our webpage for up to date information.
Historic newspaper archives
Times Digital Archive
The Times Archive provides the entire Times newspaper, from its beginning in 1785 up to 2014, including articles, photographs, letters and advertisements.
UK Press Online
The UKPressOnline site provides access to the full text of the Daily Mirror from 1903 to the present and the Daily Express from 1900 to the present. It also includes the Sunday Express, Daily Star and Star Sunday. Full page facsimiles are provided so each issue can be viewed as it would have originally appeared (complete with photos, pictures, adverts etc.).
Access to hundreds of newspapers and other news sources from many countries around the world, including the UK, France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the USA. NexisUK contains the text of many newspaper articles from the early 1990s onwards. Some newspapers are available full text from the 1970s and 1980s.
17th-18th century Burney Collection newspapers
The British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). At more than twelve hundred titles, this is the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.
19th century British Library newspapers
The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 70 newspapers selected by the British Library to represent nineteenth century Britain. It includes national and regional newspapers and can be particularly useful if you are researching local or family history.
Welsh Newspapers Online
Welsh Newspapers Online provides free access to about 120 Welsh newspaper publications up to 1919. It includes most of The Cambrian from 1804 to 1910.
Access the Cambrian Index online here.
Proquest US Newsstream
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Chronicling America : Historic American Newspapers
The 'Chronicling America' site includes over 10 million pages of digitized historic newspaper content dating from 1836 to 1922. It is a Library of Congress and National Endowment for the Humanities (part of the National Digital Newspaper Program - NDNP) project.
Gale Primary Sources Platform
Cross searches the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century UK Periodicals, British Library Newspapers, Picture Post and Times Digital Archive.
Picture Post Historical Archive
The Picture Post Historical Archive comprises the complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 - all digitized from originals in full colour. Picture Post provides a fascinating snapshot of British life from the 1930s to the 1950s, with thousands of photos of ordinary people doing ordinary things.
Searching newspaper databases
This PowerPoint outlines the newspaper databases available to you. It also provides search tips on searching The Times, UKPressOnline and NexisUK.