LibGuides: Chemistry: Journals & Databases

Key Resources for Chemistry

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Journal articles from the publisher Elsevier. Advanced search gives you the option to choose subscribed journals so that you only find results available to you immediately - useful for getting started on a topic.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources in the fields of Medicine, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences and Life Sciences. The database also provides information on citation analysis for specific articles, authors, and journal metrics.
Scifinder-n This link opens in a new window
Scifinder is produced by the American Chemical Society and is the most comprehensive source for chemistry and related subjects. It indexes over 10,000 journals and can be searched by structure diagram and formula as well as keyword. You will need to register using the link in iFind before you can use SciFinder for the first time.
Remember to register using the link in iFind the first time you use SciFinder.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A scientific citation indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialised sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.

Web of Science for Chemists

Web of Science for Chemists tutorial - click title to start.

Document supply

Document supply request
If Swansea doesn't have access to the article you want our Document Supply service may be able to get a copy. Remember to plan ahead if you need this as items can take some time to arrive.

Useful resources for Chemistry

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE covers electrical engineering, computer science and electronics but there are also articles related to chemistry and materials. We have access to the full text of all journal articles and most of the conference papers contained in the database.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE, NLM's database of citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Adds citations daily.
- Log in to your PubMed account or create one by clicking on Log in in the top right hand corner and follow the instructions to register an account.
- Once you are logged in, click on your account details icon ion the top right hand corner.
- Choose the Site Preferences tab.
- Under the PubMed Preferences section, click on Outside Tool.
- At the next page, check the box next to Swansea University
- Return to the preferences page.
- When you search PubMed, the iGetIt@Swansea icon will now appear.

MyUni Library Essentials - Researching

MyUni Library Essentials includes a section on Researching. Follow the link below to learn how to plan a search strategy and conduct your search. (You need to log in to Canvas to access the link.)

MyUni Library Essentials - Researching

Please follow the link to self-enrol on MyUni Library Essentials if you have not accessed the course before.

MyUni Library Essentials This online course is your starting point for learning how to use the Library. This course is made up of videos and tutorials designed by your Librarians, and will help you to get the most out of your Library both online and on campus.
more...less...
Please follow the link to self-enrol on MyUni Library Essentials if you have not accessed the course before.

Search for Open Access Content

Open Access Search

Skip the paywall and search CORE for free, legal, full-text articles.

Search CORE

Troubleshooting online journals

Many of our journals are available online, both on campus and from elsewhere using your Swansea University username and password. The documents below should help with common problems but if you still can't get into something which you think we subscribe to please let us know.

Online journals helpsheet

Browzine for Chemistry

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad
Download the browser extension to easily access full-text journal articles within our subscriptions when you are browsing the web and databases such as Scopus and PubMed.

Chemistry: Journals & Databases

Finding journal articles