Skip to main content

Copyright: Information for Researchers

Mae'r dudalen hon hefyd ar gael yn Gymraeg

Video Case Study (IPO) How do I protect the copyright in my book?

Copyright in Abstracts, Reports & Unpublished Conference Papers

Abstracts: copyright is normally applicable to published abstracts. However, it is permitted for scientific and technical abstracts to be copied under section 60 of the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988. 

Section 60.     Abstracts of scientific or technical articles
(1)Where an article on a scientific or technical subject is published in a periodical accompanied by an abstract indicating the contents of the article, it is not  an infringement of copyright in the abstract, or in the article, to copy the abstract or issue copies of it to the public.
(2)This section does not apply if or to the extent that there is a licensing scheme certified for the purposes of this section under section 143 providing for the grant of licences.

You will need to obtain permission from the publisher to re-use published abstracts for the Arts & Humanities. Alternatively, create your own abstract.

Unpublished conference paper: where no publisher agreement has been signed for an unpublished conference paper you will hold the copyright and may self-archive in a repository. Please ensure that you have not included any third party content without permission.  If you intend to publish in a journal, ensure that self-deposit in a repository is not regarded as prior publication with any prospective publisher.

Reports written for a third party organisation may have very specific author re-use rights assigned to the project. Where permission is required, contact the commissioning organisation.

Open Government Licence (OGL) -Crown Body employees e.g. from the National Archives, Welsh Government etc. (full list here) are subject to Crown Copyright under section 163 of the Copyright Designs and Patents Act 1988.

However, in order to facilitate the re-use of a wide range of public sector information free of charge in accordance with the 2015 Regulations on the Re-use of Public Sector Information (PSI), the OGL has been introduced. When Crown bodies are involved in publically-funded research collaborations with HEIs the research output should be made available using the OGL which allows a re-user, free of charge, to copy, publish, distribute, transmit, adapt and exploit information both commercially and non-commercial for the life of the work, providing the source of the information is acknowledged by including or linking to an attribution statement.

Open Access Book Chapters

Text and Data Mining - Research Data Support Services

Research Data Support Services for Researchers

Please visit our research data support pages for extensive information on data management planning, working with data, archiving data and text and data mining. The TDM and Copyright page offers information on utilising the exception that permits copying works for text and data analysis.   You can contact the Research Data Manager at research-data@swansea.ac.uk

Scholarly Works - Author Agreements With Publishers

Authors are strongly encouraged to retain the specific rights to self-archive published works. As the creator of a work, copyright is normally your own property unless you transfer it to another party or it is owned by your employer. However, despite the fact that you are not obliged to transfer exclusive copyright, most academic publishers of traditional subscription journals expect you to do so as a condition of publication. It is accepted that normally you will own the copyright in the first draft; upon acceptance for publication you will be required to assign copyright in subsequent versions to the publisher by signing a copyright transfer agreement.

Funder and institutional policies usually require research outputs to be available in an open access repository, so it is recommended that you consider the rights that you wish to retain before you sign any agreement. You can negotiate with your publisher to retain all the rights needed for optimal self-archiving online, or publish your work using the open access model. It is acceptable to request an alternative publication agreement.

Use a Scholar's Addendum
The Swansea University Amendment to Publication Agreement allows you to retain digital usage and access rights when transferring copyright to the publisher. Download and print the addendum (link below), complete and sign. Send a copy to your publisher with a request that they sign it and append it to the copyright transfer agreement. You should keep signed copies of any agreement or license that you make with your publisher.

Use Creative Commons Licensing
By using the Creative Commons suite of licenses you can retain control of the terms under which your work is distributed and re-used.  Increasingly the CC-BY license is required to meet funding body requirements in the UK. This license permits users to share and re-use published works provided the original author is attributed.

SHERPA/RoMEO
The SHERPA/RoMEO database provides clear summaries of standard copyright agreements for publishers and links to detailed policies on publisher websites.

Author Services

Society of Authors 
The SoA is a trade union for all types of writers, illustrators and literary translators, at all stages of their careers. They provide legal and copyright advice to members.

External Guides

Commercially Developing Your IP

Please contact REIS for further information or visit the Swansea University Commercial Services webpage.

Library Research Support

Please visit our Research Support webpage for information on RIS & Cronfa, Open Access, Article Processing Charges, Research Data Management, Getting Published, Promoting Research and Postgraduate Training