Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Transitioning from Year 13 to HE: Egypt Centre

Mae'r dudalen hon hefyd ar gael yn Gymraeg: https://libguides.swansea.ac.uk/flwyddyn13

Welcome to the Egypt Centre

The Egypt Centre boasts the largest collection of Egyptian antiquities in Wales and is an important UK collection, attracting academic and public interest from across the UK and further afield.

In 1971, 92 crates of artefacts arrived in Swansea under the auspices of Gwyn Griffiths (University College Swansea) and David Dixon (UCL) which were previously part of the collection of Sir Henry Wellcome. Sir Henry Wellcome purchased many items at auction from the collections of Robert de Rustafjaell, Gayer-Anderson, Berens and MacGregor and others. The collection on campus was known as the Wellcome Museum at Swansea University (the actual Wellcome Museum is in London) until its move to new, purpose-built galleries in 1998.

The collection now comprises over 5000 artefacts mainly from Egypt.  Artefacts come from excavations at Amarna, Armant, Mostagedda, Esna, etc.   There are also artefacts donated by private individuals, from the British Museum, the Royal Edinburgh Museum, National Museums and Galleries of Wales Cardiff and the Royal Albert Museum and Art Gallery.

Most of the objects are from ancient Egypt but there is also a significant collection of other items including pottery from ancient Greece and Rome and coins.

The Egyptian material largely covers the period c.100,000 B.C. - A.D. 500 in two galleries and includes jewellery dating from the time of Tutankhamun, weapons, and a mummified crocodile.

 

Using Objects as Primary Sources

Artifacts Gallery

Accessing from Home

Egypt Centre Blog

Contact Us

The Egypt Centre |  Museum of Egyptian Antiquities  |  Swansea University  |  Singleton Park  |  Swansea  |  SA2 8PP

Tel: (01792) 295960  |  Email: egyptcentre@swansea.ac.uk