LibGuides: South Wales Miners' Library (SWML): Home

South Wales Miners' Library Team

We are here to help you access the research collections and make the most of your time using our collections

Our opening hours are Tuesday to Friday 9:30am - 4:45pm.

Researchers wishing to access our special collections can book sessions in our reading room. To book a session please email: miners@swansea.ac.uk or telephone: 01792 518603.

Students and staff may come into theLlibrary to browse and study during opening hours, without appointments.

South Wales Miners Library
Library Website
IT Services Download your free copy of Microsoft Office 365 (inc. Word) and find out what other software is available.

Catalogues

iFind
iFind, the Library catalogue is the main way to search resources provided by Swansea University Library.

Coalfield Web Materials: CWM Project The CWM Project, created here at Swansea University, provides access to materials which capture aspects of the social, political and cultural life of the South Wales Coalfield during the 19th and 20th centuries. The site includes audio and video clips from interviews with miners, politicians and trade unionists and also photographs which illustrate all aspects of life in the coalfield.
South Wales Coalfield Collection (SWCC) The South Wales Coalfield Collection (SWCC) contains a variety of archival media which give insight into the experience of the South Wales Valleys during a period of industrial turmoil both from an institutional and personal perspective. It contains records of trade unions (notably the South Wales Miners' Federation, later the National Union of Mineworkers (South Wales Area) and the Iron and Steel Trades Confederation, South Wales Division), Miners' Institutes, Co-operative Societies, and individuals connected with the mining community.