Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding journal articles
Journals are usually published on a regular basis, such as weekly, monthly or quarterly and each issue contains a collection of articles by different authors usually reporting the latest research. You can find all the journals we subscribe to using iFind, the library catalogue. Scopus and Web of Science are large interdisciplinary databases that are useful for finding articles but we may not necessarily subscribe to the content.
Journals will be very important to use during your studies, they will provide you with high quality, reliable and up-to-date information. Using articles in assignments will demonstrate you have read widely on your topic. The main way to search for journal articles on your topic is to use a bibliographic database. A database is simply just an organized collection of information or data. Swansea University pay for access to 100s of high quality databases to help you find the best and most up-to-date information for your research. The main databases we recommend are below but remember each database will have different content so it's best to use more than one database to make sure you get all the information you need!
Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) - a huge library of over 2 million TV and radio programmes and feature films that have been broadcast by BBC, ITV, Ch4, Ch5 and over 70 other channels. Create playlists to watch later or edit clips and embed in your presentations.
iFind, the Library catalogue
Take a look at our guides on how to use iFind, the library catalogue to search for books and other resources.
Finding Journal Articles
Finding Journal Articles Short Course
This short course provides an introduction to finding journal articles. Click the link below to launch the course.
Finding journal articles (Advanced search strategies)
Finding Journal Articles (Advanced Search Strategies)
The following short course provides guidance on advance search strategies for finding journal articles. It should only take 5-10 minutes to complete. Click the link below to launch the course.
Find All Journals
Both these resources are ‘abstract and citation’ databases – this means they have lots of information about journal articles and other publications. They are useful for finding articles, and also for tracking citations and other metrics.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources in the fields of Medicine, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences and Life Sciences. The database also provides information on citation analysis for specific articles, authors, and journal metrics.
Web of Science
A scientific citation indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialised sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive source of journal articles for sports & sports medicine, providing full text for 550 journals.
Journal articles from the publisher Elsevier. Advanced search gives you the option to choose subscribed journals so that you only find results available to you immediately - useful for getting started on a topic.
PsycArticles and PsyINFO
PsycINFO provides coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields, containing nearly 4 million citations from 2500 journal titles. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.
PsycARTICLES is a database from the American Psychological Society giving full text access to over 100 journals in behavioural science and related fields.
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Sport Science, Business, health and Medical, Social Sciences and Education
MedLine and PubMed
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE, NLM's database of citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Adds citations daily.
An STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher with a large portfolio of peer-reviewed open access journals. Our journals span all areas of biology, medicine and health.
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials. It is unclear what is indexed and how, however, so Google Scholar should be used in conjunction with other academic databases for more reliable results.
It is important to note that on Campus Google Scholar links to some subscribed content. You can enable this feature on your device by going to the Google Menu, Settings, Library links and then selecting Swansea University from the access links for list.
Sage Research Methods
Sage Research Methods
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a research methods tool, linking Sage's research methods content with search tools to help researchers answer their research methods questions. The site contains 504 book titles, including the QASS (aka Little Green Book) series, 6 dictionaries, 4 encyclopaedias and a Major Work containing journal articles.