LibGuides: Politics & International Relations: Articles

Browzine

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad
Download the browser extension to easily access full-text journal articles within our subscriptions when you are browsing the web and databases such as Scopus and PubMed.

Key Journal Databases

IBSS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Social Sciences (IBSS) includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.

Proquest Social Sciences and Humanities Databases

British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This collection when complete will include 460 British journals published between 1681 and the 1930s. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.

Bibliography of British and Irish history This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of British and Irish History is a guide to works on the history of Britain, Ireland and the British overseas. It covers books, articles and other writings published after 1901. It also has details of some books and articles published before 1901. It is updated three times a year. For many researchers in British History this is likely to be the most important electronic resource.

Bibliography of British and Irish history guide

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains the full text of journals, usually from their beginning up to about 5 years ago. For more recent years, links to the full text of articles on external sites is often given. Subjects covered include ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language and literature, mathematics and statistics, philosophy, sociology, anthropology, politics and population studies.

JSTOR guide

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
In spite of its name 'Web of Science' indexes over 8,000 journals in all subject areas from 1970 to the present. It does not include the full text of journal articles but does give details of articles published very recently as it is updated every week. WoS is made up of three large databases - Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index - these may be searched individually or in any combination. For Politics both the Arts and Humanities Citation Index and the Social Science Citation Index are useful. Links are provided to the full text where it is available. Note: Many of the records in WoS use American spellings.

Finding Articles & Print Journals

All journals that we pay for are listed on iFind, the library catalogue. If you have a reference on a reading list etc. you can go straight to iFind and do a 'Journal Title' search for the journal. iFind also includes details of individual articles - click on the Articles & more tab to search these. If you want to search for articles on a particular topic select 'anywhere in the record'.

If you want to search for a specific article, select 'in the title' and enter the title of the article. You can also search for articles by a particular author, select 'as author/creator' to do this. Note: Your results will include articles from newspapers as well as from journals.

Even though you can use iFind to locate journal articles on a topic or by a particular author, if you want to carry out a more thorough search it is better to use electronic databases. Some of these databases (e.g. JSTOR) contain full-text articles, while others (e.g Web of Science) contain only a citation (or record) and abstract (a summary) of the article. In this case you will often see a 'iGetIt@Swansea University' link which you can click on to see if we hold the article here.

You can try this online exercise to sharpen your search skills and get you looking for journal articles.

MyUni Library Essentials - Researching

Cannot find what you need?

Document Supply
If the resource you need for your research is not held in the Library, use the Document Supply Service to request an interlibrary loan. Please check the library catalogue iFind before requesting an interlibrary loan.