Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using the library catalogue to find books.
You can search iFind, the library catalogue for print books and ebooks, as well as many other resources. When you are searching for a specific book, we recommend using the author's surname and one or two key words from the title to search. You can then filter by 'Full text online' to find an ebook.
There is also a guide to iFind below this text. There is also a guide to finding your books on the library shelves.
Book Locations in Singleton Library
The key classmark for Philosophy is B on Level 2 West. You may find BC - Logic, BD - Speculative Philosophy, BH - Aesthetics, and BJ- ethics to be particularly helpful. You may also find JA - Political Science & JC Political theory on Level 1 West to be useful.
Most of our e-books can be found via iFind. Many of our ebooks are available via Proquest and EBSCO. These tabs will tell you a little bit more about key book databases. To login, use your 6 digit student number as the username and your usual password. If you need any help accessing and using ebooks, email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Proquest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Proquest Ebook Central offers authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subject areas, along with powerful tools to help you find, use, and manage the information you need.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO’s extensive collection of eBook titles on EBSCOhost allows for a comprehensive and powerful search experience—with every search, relevant eBook titles will appear directly alongside your other EBSCO databases, exposing users to the full depth of your library’s offerings and increasing usage and visibility of your library’s entire collection.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a research methods tool, linking Sage's research methods content with search tools to help researchers answer their research methods questions. The site contains 504 book titles, including the QASS (aka Little Green Book) series, 6 dictionaries, 4 encyclopaedias and a Major Work containing journal articles.
Oxford Handbooks Online - Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline and explains the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and how those debates might evolve. For more information: http://www.oxfordhandbooks.com/page/philosophy
Politics Trove This link opens in a new window
Politics Trove gives online access to Politics textbooks published by Oxford University Press including books on political philosophy. A useful feature of the resource is that you can personalise and annotate content.