LibGuides: Pharmacy: Journals, articles & databases

Key journals for Pharmacy

Make a Document Supply Request

Document Supply Request Form

Request an interlibrary loan, a chapter, or an article copy for private study and non-commercial research.

Submit a request

Newspapers

Click here for Newspaper databases

Theses & Dissertations

Click here for Theses databases

Key Databases

PubChem This link opens in a new window
The database provides information on the biological activities of small molecules and can be searched by text or structure searches.

Medline This link opens in a new window
Medline provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Medline uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a database indexing literature related to all aspects of nursing, midwifery and allied health. CINAHL is international in scope with more than 5.2 million records from 5000 journal titles, including full text for more than 770 journals.

Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database with access to more than 37 million records including articles from more than 8,100 journals published world-wide.

HMIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Health Management Information Consortium contains details of articles and books in health management, social care, social policy and community care.

Proquest Health Management Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Health Management is designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. The content provides the reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics, including Business management, Personnel management, Ethics and Health economics.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE, NLM's database of citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Adds citations daily.
- Log in to your PubMed account or create one by clicking on Log in in the top right hand corner and follow the instructions to register an account.
- Once you are logged in, click on your account details icon ion the top right hand corner.
- Choose the Site Preferences tab.
- Under the PubMed Preferences section, click on Outside Tool.
- At the next page, check the box next to Swansea University
- Return to the preferences page.
- When you search PubMed, the iGetIt@Swansea icon will now appear.

Scifinder-n This link opens in a new window
Scifinder is produced by the American Chemical Society and is the most comprehensive source for chemistry and related subjects. It indexes over 10,000 journals and can be searched by structure diagram and formula as well as keyword. You will need to register using the link in iFind before you can use SciFinder for the first time.
Remember to register using the link in iFind the first time you use SciFinder.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources in the fields of Medicine, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences and Life Sciences. The database also provides information on citation analysis for specific articles, authors, and journal metrics.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A scientific citation indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialised sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.

Electronic resources

British Pharmacopoeia
The BP provides one of the only comprehensive collections of authoritative official standards for UK pharmaceutical substances and medicinal products.
Clarkes Analysis of Drugs and Poisons
This text is the definitive source of analytical data for drugs and poisons.
Dale & Appelbe: Pharmacy & Medicines Law
This is is the definitive guide to law and ethics for pharmacy practice in the UK.
Martindale : the complete Drug Reference
Martindale lists around 6,000 drugs and medicines used throughout the world, including details of over 180,000 proprietary preparations. It also includes almost 700 disease treatment reviews.
Pharmaceutical Excipients
One of the most authoritative and comprehensive sources of information on excipients used in pharmaceutical formulation
Stockley’s Drug Interactions
This text is an authoritative international source of drug interaction information.

Additional Databases

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
APA PsycINFO provides coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields, containing nearly 4 million citations from 2500 journal titles. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.

ChEMBL This link opens in a new window
EMBL is an Open Data database containing binding, functional and ADMET information for a large number of drug-like bioactive compounds. The data is curated and standardized to maximize their quality and utility across a wide range of chemical biology and drug-discovery research problems. Currently, the database contains 5.4 million bioactivity measurements for more than 1 million compounds and 5200 protein targets.

DrugBank This link opens in a new window
The DrugBank database is a unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug data with comprehensive drug target information.

IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology This link opens in a new window
An expert-driven guide to pharmacological targets and the substances that act on them.

Medline This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.

RSC Royal Society of Chemistry This link opens in a new window
The Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) has created a fully searchable digital archive of all articles published by the RSC (and its forerunner societies) from 1841 to 1996. The RSC Journals Archive contains 195,000 articles and 1,200,000 pages.

Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a research methods tool, linking Sage's research methods content with search tools to help researchers answer their research methods questions. The site contains 504 book titles, including the QASS (aka Little Green Book) series, 6 dictionaries, 4 encyclopaedias and a Major Work containing journal articles.

SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive source of journal articles for sports & sports medicine, providing full text for 550 journals.

Evidence-based resources

Campbell Collaboration This link opens in a new window
The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews in education, crime and justice and social welfare on the effects of social interventions. Search the Campbell Library database to gain access to titles, protocols, systematic reviews and user abstracts.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making and includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (aka CENTRAL or TRIALS) contains records of randomised and quasi-randomised controlled trials taken from bibliographic databases (mainly MEDLINE and Embase). This is not a full-text database.

Trip database This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Finding journal articles

What is a journal article and how do I find them?

iFind This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

MyUni Library Essentials - Researching

MyUni Library Essentials includes a section on Researching. Follow the link below to learn how to plan a search strategy and conduct your search. (You need to log in to Canvas to access the link.)

MyUni Library Essentials - Researching

Please follow the link to self-enrol on MyUni Library Essentials if you have not accessed the course before.

MyUni Library Essentials This online course is your starting point for learning how to use the Library. This course is made up of videos and tutorials designed by your Librarians, and will help you to get the most out of your Library both online and on campus.
more...less...
Please follow the link to self-enrol on MyUni Library Essentials if you have not accessed the course before.

Additional Access

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window

Journals via Browzine mobile app

BrowZine at Swansea University