Skip to main content

Online Library: Temporary Access to Additional Resources (COVID-19)

Mae'r dudalen hon hefyd ar gael yn Gymraeg

Temporary access to additional e-resources during COVID-19

Many publishers are now providing temporary free or unrestricted access to content to support online teaching, learning, and research during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. Where content has been made immediately available and accessible, we have listed it on this page. The Library is also working with information from publishers to activate access to additional titles. This page will be updated with new content as it becomes available.

Remember, you can also:

  • Search iFind for complete access to the Library's permanent online resources. 

  • See our Open Access Library Guide for a list of permanently free online resources.

  • Make a Document Supply request for electronic articles.

Please be aware that access to content on this page is subject to end at publisher discretion. Expiry dates have been listed where known.

Released content

Brill

Free access to 59 ebooks on epidemics, containment strategies, homeschooling, distance learning, and crisis response. New related content will be added as it is published. Expires 30/04/21

Cambridge University Press

Cambridge University Press are providing free access to over 2000 reference and academic textbooks on Cambridge Core. The collection includes HTML textbooksCambridge HistoriesCambridge Companions, and Cambridge Elements. Log in with your institutional details for access. Expired 30/06/20

EBSCO eBook Collection

EBSCO eBook titles held by Swansea University now have unlimited user access. Expired 30/06/20

Elsevier ScienceDirect

Elsevier has granted temporary access to 256 textbooks. Click here for a full title list with URLs. For full-text access, sign in using OpenAthens and your institutional login details. Expires TBC

GeoScienceWorld

Free access to 26000+ chapters in 1600+ Earth Sciences books from publishers including the Geological Society of America and the Geological Society of London. Expired 30/06/20

JSTOR

A special collection of 35,000+ e-books from more than 80 scholarly publishers is now freely available. Use institutional login for full-text access. Click here for a full title list.  Expires 31/08/20

Kortext Free Student eTextbook Programme

Kortext have provided free temporary access to 70+ e-books via their eTextbook platform. The selection includes titles by SAGE, Pearson, Wiley, and McGraw-Hill. These titles can be accessed by searching iFind. Expires TBC

Ohio State University Press

Free access to OSU Press monographs and textbooks Expires TBC

Project Muse

More than 50 publishers have chosen to temporarily make content freely available to assist with access for the many students, faculty, and researchers now working remotely due to the global public health crisis of COVID-19. As of 26th March, more than 15,000 books, and over 230 journal titles - comprising well over 10,000 issues and more than 185,000 articles - are available through this initiative. Click here for a full list of free e-book titles Expired 30/06/20

ProQuest Ebook Central

Ebook Central titles held by Swansea University now have unlimited user access. Expires 31/08/20

Springer Nature

Free access to more than 500 key textbooks across Springer Nature’s eBook subject collections. Click here for a full list of titles and URLs. Use institutional login for full-text access. Expires 31/07/20

University of Michigan Press

All content in the UMP e-book collection is free to read online. Expires 31/08/20

VitalSource Helps

Students and instructors can now access up to 7 free titles from an expansive catalogue of e-books from leading publishers in higher education until 30th June 2020. Register and log in to the VitalSource Bookshelf app using your university email address to find and view e-books from participating publishers. Maximum allowance of 7 free titles per user. Expired 30/06/20

American Economic Association

The AEA is providing temporary open access to all journal content on the AEA website through August 2020 to overcome any difficulties some may have accessing library subscriptions during these challenging times. Expires 31/08/20

Annual Reviews

Annual Review journals cover a broad range of disciplines within biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences, including economics. All journal titles are currently free to access. Expired 30/06/20

Berghahn Journals

Berghahn Journals are providing free access to 38 scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities. Expired 30/06/20

EDP Sciences

Journal content published by EDP Sciences between 2018-20 is now free to read. Expires TBC

Érudit Journals

Érudit have temporarily lifted the 12- month paywall on their journals, which cover Arts, Economics, History, Literature, and Psychology. Érudit content older than 12 months is Open Access as standard. Expires TBC

JSTOR

JSTOR are providing free access to 26 newly released public health journals. Topics addressed include Epidemiology, Health Policy and Administration, Occupational and Environmental Health, Health Equity and the Culture of Health, Aging, Bioethics, and Health Promotion.

They have also expanded their free read-online access from 6 to 100 free articles per month. Free read-online access requires you to set up of a a free personal JSTOR account.

Expires 31/12/20

Microbiology Society

The Microbiology Society have temporarily removed paywalls on all journal content, including Microbiology, Journal of General Virology, and JMM Case Reports. Expires TBC

Project Muse

More than 50 publishers have chosen to temporarily make content freely available to assist with access for the many students, faculty, and researchers now working remotely due to the global public health crisis of COVID-19. As of 26th March, more than 15,000 books, and over 230 journal titles - comprising well over 10,000 issues and more than 185,000 articles - are available through this initiative. Click here for a full list of free journal titles Expired 30/06/20

Rockefeller University Press

RUP are making all articles in the following journals temporarily free to read: Journal of Cell Biology (JCB), Journal of Experimental Medicine (JEM ), and Journal of General Physiology (JGP).  Expires TBC

The Royal Society

All 10 of the Royal Society's research journals are currently free to access. Expires TBC

University of California Press

University of California Press has made all 46 journals in humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences free to access. Expires TBC

University of Chicago Press

University of Chicago Press have provided temporary online access to the following journal titles: 

Classical Philology

Critical Inquiry

Journal of Modern History

Journal of Near Eastern Studies

Expires TBC

Box of Broadcasts (BoB)

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education. Staff and students at subscribing institutions can record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search an archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts. Expired 31/07/20
Please respond to our SURVEY if you would like to offer feedback on this resource.

British History Online

British History Online (BHO) is a digital collection of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a special focus on the period 1300 to 1800. From 30 March, all transcribed content on BHO is now freely available to individual users. Expired 31/07/20

Index of Medieval Art

This online database includes images and descriptive data to complement the print index at Princeton University. Expired 01/6/20

American Medical Association

The JAMA Network COVID-19 collection, includes Q&As with NIAID's Anthony Fauci, an interactive map of the outbreak, courtesy of The Johns Hopkins Center for Systems Science and Engineering, and past publications on vaccine development, infection control, and public health preparedness. Expires TBC

American Psychological Association

Free collection includes relevant psychological research published across the APA Journals portfolio. Expires TBC

BioOne Complete

Access to Coronavirus articles across 3 journal titles. Expires 31/12/20

BMJ Coronavirus Hub

BMJ's covid-19 hub supports health professionals and researchers with practical guidance, online CPD courses, as well as the latest news, comment, and research from The BMJ. The content is free and updated daily. Expires TBC

BMJ Learning

In response to the rapidly evolving challenges posed by COVID-19, BMJ are providing free access to their most relevant CPD online courses to update and refresh clinical knowledge for those supporting our healthcare systems.‚ÄčExpires TBC

Brill

Free access to 59 ebooks on epidemics, containment strategies, homeschooling, distance learning, and crisis response. New related content will be added as it is published. Expires 30/04/21

Cambridge University Press

Free access to related articles and chapters in the Coronavirus Free Access Collection Expires TBC

Elsevier Novel Coronavirus Information Center

Access to the latest early stage and peer-reviewed research on COVID-19, including over 20,000 ScienceDirect articles. Expires TBC

Emerald

Free access to expert briefings, journal articles, and book chapters related to coronavirus and the management of epidemics. Expires TBC

ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database

No-cost access to full-text content covering all facets of COVID-19 and related infectious diseases. The Coronavirus Research Database saves time and improves outcomes for researchers by aggregating authoritative content from ProQuest with content made available at no cost by members of the International Association of STM Publishers – including Springer Nature, Taylor & Francis and The BMJ. Expires TBC

RCNi COVID-19 Resource Centre

To support the nursing community RCNi have developed a dedicated COVID-19 resource centre that is completely free to access for all nurses and frontline NHS staff working with coronavirus patients. It includes peer-reviewed evidence-based articles and e-learning modules which address some of the areas of care that COVID-19 patients may require, as well as resources designed to help staff stay well during this demanding and stressful period. Expires TBC

The Royal Society Publishing

The Royal Society have made all papers free to access and have compiled a special collection comprised of papers likely to be relevant to the outbreak. Expires TBC

Statista

All of Statista’s COVID-19 content is free to access, including numerous dossiers on specific countries, economic impact on industries, infographics, and additional updates as they become available.Expires TBC

Springer Nature

Access to Coronavirus-related research articles, reviews and comments, books and chapters. Expires TBC

Wiley Online Library

Free access to the latest Coronavirus research and news Expires TBC

WONKHE

Will the pandemic force universities to address the challenges of copyright? Blog post by Chris Morrison and Jane Secker addressing the shift to online learning.

MindTools COVID-19 Support Pack

Free resources on staying informed, critical thinking, remote working, and self-care.

Routledge Student Survival Skills Hub

Routledge are providing access to a selection of resources on study skills, research skills, wellbeing, and more.