Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Source Databases
Here we have picked out some databases of primary sources. As with all these sections it's worth exploring the full a-z on the home page as well.
The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940.
British History Online
British History Online is a non-profit digital library of the core printed primary and secondary sources of British history from 1100 to the mid-twentieth century, with a focus on the medieval and early modern period.
JISC Historic Books
Includes Early English Books Online.
The Gallica pages, part of the website of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, give access to a vast collection of digitised texts and images covering the period from the Middle Ages onwards. Subjects covered include philosophy, law, economics and politics as well as history and literature. The Web site provides chronologies of the periods alongside thematic pages with links to related works. Alternatively, you can use the online catalogue to search for particular works, or by subject. A selection of dictionaries is also available as are a number of themed collections or dossiers and some audio resources. The Web site and most of the texts are in French, but there is also a selection of texts in other languages.
Internet History Sourcebooks
The Internet History Sourcebooks provide copy-permitted historical texts for educational use.
This website is about the Mabinogi, also known as Pedair Cainc, or the Four Branches. It also includes information about other connected mediaeval literature such as stories known from the larger Mabinogion collection, plus their social context, and a bibliography to academic literature on the Mabinogi.
Patrologia Latina Database
The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.
Epistolae is a collection of letters to and from women dating from the 4th to the 13th century AD. These letters from the Middle Ages, written in Latin, are presented with English translations and are organized by the women participating
Manuscrits Medievaux: France - Angleterre 700-1200
Mae’r gronfa ddata’n cynnwys wyth gant o lawysgrifau wedi eu cadw mewn rhannau cyfartal gan y BnF a’r Llyfrgell Brydeinig. Mae’r llawysgrifau wedi eu dewis am eu harwyddocâd hanesyddol o ran cysylltiadau rhwng Ffrainc a Lloegr yn ystod y Canol Oesoedd. Maent hefyd o ddiddordeb artistig, hanesyddol neu lenyddol unigryw. Cawsant eu cynhyrchu rhwng yr wythfed a diwedd y ddeuddegfed ganrif, maent yn cynnwys ystod eang o bynciau, gan ddangos cynnyrch deallusol yn ystod yr canol oesoedd cynnar a’r cyfnod Rhufeinig.
The database includes eight hundred manuscripts preserved in equal parts by the BnF and the British Library. The manuscripts have been selected for their historical significance in terms of relations between France and England during the Middle Ages. They are also of unique artistic, historical or literary interest. Produced between the eighth and the end of the twelfth century, they cover a wide range of subjects, illustrating intellectual production during the early middle ages and the Roman period.
Archives & Special Collections
British Library: Treasures in Full
Treasures in Full BL - Examine every page of rare historic works; compare different editions side-by-side; choose standard or magnified view; read supporting material by our curators and other experts.