Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here are some great databases for finding information about medieval studies.You can also check the full list of databases tagged with Medieval studies.
JSTOR contains the full text of journals, usually from their beginning up to about 5 years ago. For more recent years, links to the full text of articles on external sites is often given. Subjects covered include ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language and literature, mathematics and statistics, philosophy, sociology, anthropology, politics and population studies.
International Medieval Bibliography
The international Medieval Bibliography is the leading interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages (400-1500). It provides details of over 300,000 articles published between 1967 and the present in journals, conference proceedings and essay collections.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications.
Mae’r Medieval Sourcebook yn darparu copïau o destunau hanesyddol y caniateir eu copïo i’w defnyddio mewn addysg.
The Medieval Sourcebook provides copy-permitted historical texts for educational use.
These cover a range of topics but may well be useful depending on your topic.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography gives details of most journal articles and books on modern languages and literatures (including English) from the 1920s to the present. It also has details of many journal articles and books on linguistics, folklore and film. It does not include book reviews. It is part of the Proquest Social Sciences and Humanities Database Service. It can be searched individually or in combination with other Proquest Social Sciences and Humanities Databases. BHI (British Humanities Index) can also be useful.
Project MUSE features a collection of online scholarly journals that focuses on arts and humanities, compiled by the Johns Hopkins University Press in collaboration with the Milton S. Eisenhower Library.
Bibliography of British and Irish history
The Bibliography of British and Irish History is a guide to works on the history of Britain, Ireland and the British overseas. It covers books, articles and other writings published after 1901 and it is updated three times a year.
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals archive online is an archive of eighty digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
The very first place to start is with books. You can check out Swansea's holdings or cast your net more widely and order in books using inter library loans service - Click here for more information
iFind, the Library catalogue is the main way to search resources provided by Swansea University Library.
National Library of Wales
Explore the collections held at the National Library of Wales.
Library Hub Discover
Copac exposes rare and unique research material by bringing together the catalogues of c.90 major UK and Irish libraries (and growing). In a single search you can discover the holdings of the UK’s national libraries (including the British Library), many University libraries, and specialist research libraries. Researchers and educators use Copac to save time in their research, to quickly and easily discover and locate resources, to check document details, review materials in their field, and assess the rarity of materials etc. Information professionals trust Copac to give them access to a unique pool of high-quality bibliographic information.