Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Media Resources available to you
Note that the highlighted resources below are a selection - click on the Subject Resources tab to see a full listing.
Image courtesy of BFI Inview.
Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) - a huge library of over 2 million TV and radio programmes and feature films that have been broadcast by BBC, ITV, Ch4, Ch5 and over 70 other channels. Create playlists to watch later or edit clips and embed in your presentations
Contains British Pathe's newsreel film library (3,500 hours of newsreel film) online with downloadable copies available for free at low resolution. You can search by date, range of years, keyword and type of film.
BFI Screen Online
Online encyclopaedia of British film and television. Includes hundreds of hours of film and television clips from the collections of the BFI National Archive.
BFI Player free collections
Dros 11.000 o ffillmiau gan y BFI (British Film Institutute), archifau cenedlaethol a rhanbarthol
Over 11,000 archives films made available from the BFI (British Film Institute), national and regional archives.
British Library Archival Sound Recordings
Includes 80,000 selected recordings of music, spoken word and human and natural environments. Click on Oral History on the side menu to access interview recordings.
EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today.
Popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
This resource contains digitizations of popular culture collections from the U.S. and U.K. between 1950 to 1975. These original archival materials are from various libraries and archives. Topics include student protests, civil rights, consumerism, and the Vietnam War. The collection includes pamphlets, letters, government files, eye witness accounts, underground magazines, visual and video materials and ephemera and memorabilia. Part II contains additional material, such as music, press kits, mail order catalogues, advertising proofs, additional photos from the Mirrorpix archives, and documents on student unrest and the Troubles in Northern Ireland from the National Archives.