Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A-Z list of Journals
You will find a complete A-Z list of journals (online and in print form) for all subjects in iFind. At the top of the iFind screen click on:
Key Databases for finding journal articles
JSTOR contains the full text of journals, usually from their beginning up to about 5 years ago. For more recent years, links to the full text of articles on external sites is often given. Subjects covered include ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language and literature, mathematics and statistics, philosophy, sociology, anthropology, politics and population studies.
International Bibliography of Social Sciences (IBSS) includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Project MUSE features a collection of online scholarly journals that focuses on arts and humanities, compiled by the Johns Hopkins University Press in collaboration with the Milton S. Eisenhower Library.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography gives details of most journal articles and books on modern languages and literatures (including English) from the 1920s to the present. It also has details of many journal articles and books on linguistics, folklore and film. It does not include book reviews. It is part of the Proquest Social Sciences and Humanities Database Service. It can be searched individually or in combination with other Proquest Social Sciences and Humanities Databases. BHI (British Humanities Index) can also be useful.
Web of Science
A scientific citation indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialised sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.
Finding journals in print form
Most Media Studies journals (in print form) can be found at PN1 on Level 1 West in the Library and Information Centre. You may also find some items of interest (e.g. books relating to Public Relations and Social Media) at the Bay Library. To borrow items from other libraries, just ask at the library desk in the library you are using. You can also place a request via iFind (they will be available for you to pick up the day after you have requested an item on week days).
You can try this online exercise to sharpen your search skills and get you looking for journal articles
How to find journal articles
You may think you can get all the information you need from books and websites, but it's a good idea to include journal articles in your research too. Academic journals are an excellent source of scholarly information on your topic. Here are a few tips for finding journal articles:-
- Use the Articles & more search in iFind, especially if you know the name of the article you want
- You'll find more relevant results if you search specialist databases - have a look at the Key Resources Page
- Use the abstract (a summary of the article) to help you decide if an article is relevant for you
- Once you've found an article you need, print it out or save it to your device so you can read it whenever you like and make notes
How to improve your searching
- Find the keywords for your topic or essay. Don’t type in a long sentence.
- Are there synonyms or related terms (broader or more specific) that might be relevant
Getting more results
- You can use a truncation symbol (usually an asterisk *) to find different endings to your keyword. For example, searching for read* would find read, reading, reads, etc.
- You can find alternative terms simultaneously by linking them with or; for example, you could search for adolescent or teenager.
Getting fewer results
- If you get too many results try searching just the title rather than the full record. You should get fewer, more relevant results.
- Use quotation marks if you want your search terms to appear as a phrase.
- Use 'and' to combine search terms
- Use the refinement options and the searchwithin box to make your search more specific
Critically appraising your sources is a crucial element of any literature search. You need to consider is your sources are:
- academic enough
- Free from bias
Ask yourself the following questions about the information you have found.
- Who is the author or organisation responsible for the information?
- Are they qualified to write on this topic?
- Is the information out of date?
- Does it matter?
What sort of information?
- Is it opinion or fact?
- Is it reliable and independent?
- Is it academic/research-focussed or commercial?
This document is a resource you can use to help you evaluate items you have found.