Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding journal articles
Journals are usually published on a regular basis, such as weekly, monthly or quarterly and each issue contains a collection of articles by different authors usually reporting the latest research. You can find all the journals we subscribe to using iFind, the library catalogue.
Journals will be very important to use during your studies, they will provide you with high quality, reliable and up-to-date information. Using articles in assignments will demonstrate you have read widely on your topic. The main way to search for journal articles on your topic is to use a bibliographic database. A database is simply just an organized collection of information or data. Swansea University pay for access to 100s of high quality databases to help you find the best and most up-to-date information for your research. The main databases we recommend are below but remember each database will have different content so it's best to use more than one database to make sure you get all the information you need!
iFind This link opens in a new window
Key titles for Health Informatics
How do I make a request?
If the resource you need for your research is not held in the Library, use the Document Supply Service to request an interlibrary loan. Please check the library catalogue iFind before requesting an interlibrary loan.
Theses & Dissertations
EThOS This link opens in a new window
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library is a research, discovery and networking platform that contains the full-text collection of all ACM publications, a collection of curated and hosted full-text publications from select publishers and the ACM guide to computing literature.
Mae ACM Digital Library yn blatfform ymchwil, darganfod a rhwydweithio sy'n cynnwys casgliad testun llawn o holl gyhoeddiadau ACM, casgliad o gyhoeddiadau testun llawn, wedi'u curadu ac wedi'u cynnal gan gyhoeddwyr penodol a chanllaw i lenyddiaeth gyfrifiadura ACM.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
HMIC This link opens in a new window
The Health Management Information Consortium contains details of articles and books in health management, social care, social policy and community care.
Medline This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
ASSIA This link opens in a new window
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains over 375,000 records from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
An STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher with a large portfolio of peer-reviewed open access journals. Our journals span all areas of biology, medicine and health.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a database indexing literature related to all aspects of nursing, midwifery and allied health. CINAHL is international in scope with more than 5.2 million records from 5000 journal titles, including full text for more than 770 journals.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields, containing nearly 4 million citations from 2500 journal titles. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources in the fields of Medicine, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences and Life Sciences. The database also provides information on citation analysis for specific articles, authors, and journal metrics.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A scientific citation indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialised sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making and includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Campbell Collaboration This link opens in a new window
The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews in education, crime and justice and social welfare on the effects of social interventions. Search the Campbell Library database to gain access to titles, protocols, systematic reviews and user abstracts.
Trip database This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Swansea Online Tutorials (SWOTs)
Explore our journals with the BrowZine mobile app