Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Help with other resources
This page highlights other important resources. Don't forget to also check the subject resources widget on the Key Resources tab. If you have any questions or need any help, please email - email@example.com
Recent newspapers (current 3 months only), such as The Times, can be found on the News Rack on Level 4 West (the Gallery).
For back-issues and a wider selection of English language newspapers please use the databases below.
Access to hundreds of newspapers and other news sources from many countries around the world, including the UK, France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the USA. NexisUK contains the text of many newspaper articles from the early 1990s onwards. Some newspapers are available full text from the 1970s and 1980s.
Times Digital Archive
When accessing this resource off campus, a webpage with a login box will appear. Rather than entering your details, look for the link called “Shibboleth users click here” towards the bottom left of the Screen. Click on it and then click “Login via your home institution”.
The Times Archive provides the entire Times newspaper, from its beginning in 1785 up to 2010, including articles, photographs, letters and advertisements.
Dissertations & Theses
Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global
Dissertations & Theses incorporates two databases which can be searched individually or cross searched. Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland covers theses accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland. It covers the years from 1716 up to almost the present. Dissertations & Theses: A&I covers American and International theses from 1861 to the present date. Dissertations & Theses: A & I is strong on theses from the USA but poor for the rest of the world. For post 1997 theses, 24 page previews are included in both databases. For a minority of theses, links to the full text are provided.
Search over 400,000 doctoral theses. Download instantly for your research, or order a scanned copy quickly and easily.
Keeping up to date
Zetoc is a very comprehensive research databases, giving access to over 29,000 journals and more than 52 million article citations and conference papers through the British Library’s electronic table of contents.